Vol. 17, No. 16 May 3, 2001 Issue

It’s soon cap-and-gown time

Once again this spring, each academic college at WSU is hosting its own commencement, making commencement a two-day event May 11-12.

All degrees will be conferred at the individual college ceremonies. Students will have their names read as they walk across the stage. Doctoral and master’s graduates will be hooded at their respective college ceremonies.

Five of the six colleges have invited prominent alumni speakers.

The commencement schedule for Friday, May 11, is:

  • 2 p.m., College of Engineering, Lowe Auditorium, Hughes Metropolitan Complex. The speaker will be Eugene Klein, chairman of the board, Huron Valley Sinai Hospital.

  • 7 p.m., College of Education, Levitt Arena. State Sen. Jean Schodorf, a Wichita school board member, will give the address.

The schedule for Saturday, May 12, is:

  • 8:30 a.m., W. Frank Barton School of Business, Levitt Arena. George Fahnestock, president, Fahnestock Heating & Air Conditioning, will deliver the commencement speech.

  • 11 a.m., College of Health Professions, Lowe Auditorium. Arneatha Martin, chief executive officer, Center for Health and Wellness, will speak to the graduates.

  • 1:30 p.m., Fairmount College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Levitt Arena

  • 4:30 p.m., College of Fine Arts, Lowe Auditorium. Fine arts and entertainment attorney Deametrice Eyster will give the commencement address.

Martha Shawver, associate vice president for academic affairs and research, is coordinating the commencement. For more information, call 978-5060.

Hendrix Myth
Crash landing
Museum's Asmat trip
ISA scholarship fund
New Web Site
New online features
Lost & Found
Summer parking
Online map project
Roundhouse update
Lysistrata production

Inside WSU is published by the Office of University Communications for Wichita State University faculty, staff and friends on biweekly Thursdays during the fall and spring semesters. Items to be considered for publication should be sent to campus box 62 or Amy.Geiszler-Jones@wichita.edu 10 days before publication.

Site Designed and Maintained by Tae-wook Kang (neoneo/inteliNeo), WSU Web Dev. Team 2000'
Editor Amy Geiszler-Jones