Vol. 17, No. 16 May 3, 2001 Issue

Tenure and Promotion

Derek Soles, associate professor of English, was awarded tenure.

Sue Enns, College of Health Professions, was promoted to assistant professor.

The following faculty were promoted to associate professor: Barton School of Business – Sue Abdinnour-Helm* and Steve Porter*; Fairmount College of Liberal Arts and Sciences – Andra Bannister*, Alex Chaparro*, Dan Close*, Judith Johnson and Keith Pickus*; College of Engineering – David Koert; and Ablah Library – Nancy Myers*.

* Indicates tenure was granted

The following faculty were promoted to professor: Barton School of Business – Mohammad Dadashzadeh; Fairmount College of Liberal Arts and Sciences – Dennis Burns, Hussein Hamdeh and Gary Toops; College of Education – Marlene Schommer-Aikens; College of Engineering – Hyuck Kwon, Hamid Lankarani and L. Scott Miller; College of Fine Arts – Julie Bees; and College of Health Professions – James Swan.

All promotions become effective July 1.



John Dreifort, professor of history, had his book "Baseball History From Outside the Lines," which is a cultural and social history of baseball, published by the University Press of Nebraska.

David Ericson, associate professor, political science, had his book "The Debate over Slavery: Antislavery and Proslavery Liberalism in Antebellum America" published by New York University Press.



David Ericson, associate professor, political science, presented a paper, "Hobbes as a Liberal ‘Mirror’ to the Sovereign," at the annual meeting of the Midwest Political Science Association in Chicago April 19-22.

Michael Palmiotto, professor of criminal justice, recently presented the paper "An Analysis of Discrimination between Minorities and Women Police Officers: Are there Differences? Similarities?" at the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences held in Washington, D.C. He also chaired a roundtable on "Police Training for the 21st Century."



Monica Turner, a geology senior, presented "Disentangling Conflicting Stratigraphic Subdivisions Through Ammonoid Biostratigraphy, The Sharon Springs Member of the Pierre Shale Formation (Upper Cretaceous), Western Kansas," at the joint annual meeting of the Rocky Mountain and south-central sections of the Geological Society of America and the Rocky Mountain section of the Paleontological Society of America recently in Albuquerque, N.M. The paper was co-authored by graduate student Krysti Weed, associate professor and geology department chair Collette Burke and assistant professor Wan Yang.



Frederick Hemans, associate professor, School of Art and Design, has been elected to serve a two-year term representing the College of Fine Arts in Faculty Senate, beginning June 1.



Diane Thomas Lincoln, assistant professor and director of the decorative and ornamental painting and design certificate program, has been invited to participate in the 25th Future of Religion Conference at the International University Center in Dubrovnik, Croatia. She will exhibit her series of photographs, "Evolution of a Cultural War: Images of Bosnia," and reproductions of paintings about the former Yugoslavia which she has worked on during the past 10 years. The exhibition materials will be included in IUC’s new library.


Scholarly Activity

Pedro Bravo-Elizondo, professor of Spanish, has been selected to participate in the 2001 National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Institute, "Brazil, the Invisible Giant in Latin American Studies," to be held at The Ohio State University.


Emeritus Status

Elmer Hoyer, professor, electrical and computer engineering, has been granted emeritus status upon his retirement after the spring semester.



Andra Bannister, assistant professor and director, Regional Community Policing Institute, has been awarded $400,000 by Department of Justice for the project "Police Integrity Training Initiative."

John Tomblin, associate professor, aerospace engineering, was awarded $232,277 by the Federal Aviation Administration for the project "Damage Tolerance of Composite Sandwich Airframe Structures, Phase III, Stage C." He also was awarded $3,000 by the FAA for student travel to the FAA Airworthiness Assurance Center for Excellence symposium.



The Eck Stadium renovation project was recognized recently with the Keeper of the Plains Award from the Wichita Area Chamber of Commerce. The award recognizes architectural achievement and the contributions such structures make to the beautification of the community.

John Jones, WSU online editor and English department instructor, won the Jeanne Lobmeyer Cardénas prize in short fiction from Newman University and the Sheridan Edwards Review for his story "Rhapsody in Blue."

Mary Warren, director of development and operations, Self-Help Network of Kansas, has been named an honoree in the 40 Under 40 awards sponsored by the Wichita Business Journal, the Barton School of Business, Sprint, Goldsmith’s and the Wichita Marriott. The awards recognize 40 people under the age of 40 for their professional accomplishments, community involvement and volunteer activities.



Mary Lescoe-Long, assistant professor, has been appointed acting chair for the department of public health sciences.


New to WSU

Elizabeth Dunbar will join the Ulrich Museum as curator later this month. She has been coordinator for curatorial projects at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, associate director at Ace Gallery in Los Angeles and assistant curator at the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York.



The following people have retired this spring semester or will retire in the near future, according to human resources: Robert Alley, professor, curriculum and instruction; William Andrews, performance facilities manager; Prem Bajaj, associate professor, mathematics and statistics; Marcus Ballenger, professor, College of Education; John Belt, associate professor, management; Barbara Bowman, assistant professor, biological sciences; Marcella DeMars, office assistant, admissions; Maureen Hoag, instructor, English; Elmer Hoyer, professor, electrical and computer engineering; James Jackson, professor, medical technology; Everett Johnson, professor and chair, electrical and computer engineering; and Carol Williams, office assistant, Police Department.



WSU job opportunities can be accessed online at www.twsu.edu/~humanres/ or by calling the 24-hour Job Line, 978-3344.

Hendrix Myth
Crash landing
Museum's Asmat trip
ISA scholarship fund
New Web Site
New online features
Lost & Found
Summer parking
Online map project
Roundhouse update
Lysistrata production

Inside WSU is published by the Office of University Communications for Wichita State University faculty, staff and friends on biweekly Thursdays during the fall and spring semesters. Items to be considered for publication should be sent to campus box 62 or Amy.Geiszler-Jones@wichita.edu 10 days before publication.

Site Designed and Maintained by Tae-wook Kang (neoneo/inteliNeo), WSU Web Dev. Team 2000'
Editor Amy Geiszler-Jones