The Geology Building was designed to house the mathematics and physics departments. It was known as the Math-Physics Building from the time it opened in 1958 until 2000 when following major remodeling the geology department became the major occupant. During its construction a unique process was used which emphasized the relationship between international style architecture and technology. After the basement floor slab was poured, the roof was framed and poured on top of it. The roof was then jacked to its intended position, followed by the third and second floor slabs.