Wichita State News
Photo: File
Ron Matson, chairman of WSU's Department of Sociology and a longtime professor, has been named 2011 Kansas Professor of the Year. He is only the sixth professor from WSU to win the award.

WSU's Ron Matson wins 2011 Kansas Professor of the Year

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Wichita State University sociology professor Ron Matson has been named the 2011 Kansas Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE).

The announcement was made today (Thursday, Nov. 17) at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Matson was chosen from nearly 300 top professors in the United States. He is one of only 27 state winners selected for the award.

Bill Bischoff
Bill Bischoff
Bill Bischoff, dean of WSU’s Fairmount College for Liberal Arts and Sciences, said this is one of the most prestigious awards honoring U.S. professors.

“This award recognizes the most outstanding undergraduate faculty in the country: those who excel as teachers and influence the lives and careers of their students,” Bischoff said. “Dr. Matson has consistently provided a quality educational experience for students that not only prepares them intellectually, but also promotes their personal growth.”

'The best teacher I have ever known'

WSU alumnus Andy Blakemore called Matson’s classes “laboratories of social life” and said he is fortunate to have had him as a teacher.

“It takes a masterful teacher to draw students out and help them teach each other, and Dr. Matson is such a teacher,” Blakemore said. “He is simply the best teacher I have ever known and is well-deserving of praise and recognition for his abilities.”

Previous Wichita State winners of the award are Mel Kahn, political science, 1989; Erach Talaty, chemistry, 1999; Peer Moore-Jansen, anthropology, 2002; Ellie Shore, psychology, 2005; and Jacquelyn Dillon-Krass, music education and string pedagogy, 2008.

Matson began his teaching career as a teaching associate in the sociology department at the University of Colorado in 1966. In 1970 he became an assistant professor at Wichita State and has been associate professor since 1997. He is the chairman and undergraduate coordinator for the Department of Sociology.

CASE and the Carnegie Foundation have been partners in offering the U.S. Professors of the Year awards program since 1981.

The U.S. Professors of the Year program is the only national program to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching and mentoring.

For more information on the award, go to http://www.usprofessorsoftheyear.org/.

This story has been tagged Faculty/Staff, Social Work, Fairmount College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. See all RSS feeds here
Created on Thursday, November 17, 2011; Last modified on Friday, November 18, 2011