Wichita State News
Photo: Courtesy
Wichita State's Student Ambassador Society.

Student Ambassador Society selects new members

Tuesday, May 28, 2013

Wichita State University’s Student Ambassador Society (SAS), under the Office of Undergraduate Admissions, selected 33 incoming and current WSU students for membership beginning in fall 2013.

WSU faculty, staff, students and various Kansas high school and community college officials nominated more than 400 students to apply for SAS membership; only 65 candidates received interview opportunities.

“The membership selection process for Student Ambassador Society is highly competitive,” said Bobby Gandu, SAS adviser and director of admissions at WSU. “We couldn’t be more pleased with the quality of these new members and we look forward to seeing them help take the organization to new heights.”

Through SAS, students can impact the future of the university, gain professional networking opportunities, meet fellow WSU students, develop leadership skills and enhance their overall college experience.

Each SAS member donates about 15-20 hours per semester in biweekly meetings and in helping and supporting the admissions office by working with prospective students and their parents, potential university donors and the greater Wichita community.

During the 2012-2013 academic year, student ambassadors donated thousands of hours and participated in more than 100 admissions activities.

For more information about Student Ambassador Society at Wichita State, go to www.wichita.edu/sas.

2013-2014 SAS inductees
Wichita Collegiate School

Amani Braxton
T’Keyah Williams

Wichita High School East
Katie Deutsch
Kiah Duggins
Rachael Manske
Sachin Pendse

Wichita Heights High School
Carley Larson

Wichita High School North
Alissa Bey

Wichita High School Northwest
Amanda Johnson
Abigail Kretzschmar

Wichita High School Southeast
Courtney Allen
Tram Ngo

Andover High School
Jordan Haas
Jacob Highfill

Andover Central High School
Ashley Schrader

Campus High School
Emry Woelk

Derby High School
Ericka Feltrop

Eisenhower High School
Sarah Nelson

Garden Plain High School
Tyler Gegen

Goddard High School
Jacob Meister

Lee’s Summit North High School (Lee’s Summit, Mo.)
Erika Henseler

Lyndon High School
Gabriel Clark
Dylan Sloop

Maize South High School
Alex Hohler

Mulvane High School
Reegan Innes

Olpe High School
Emily Samuels

Rose Hill High School
Chelsea Pinkerton

Salina High School South
Margy Long
Lydia Newquist

Santa Fe Trail High School
Whitney Wilson

Shawnee Mission North High School
Jordan Johnson

Valley Center High School
Andrew Mayfield
Alan “Wyatt” Vieux

This story has been tagged Students, Admissions. See all RSS feeds here
Created on Tuesday, May 28, 2013; Last modified on Tuesday, May 28, 2013