Wichita State News

Twelve finalists chosen in WSU scholarship invitational

Monday, January 06, 2014

Wichita State University has chosen the top 12 finalists in the annual Distinguished Scholarship Invitational (DSI).

Two students will be announced as recipients of the $52,000 Harry Gore Memorial Scholarship on Thursday, Jan. 30.

They are:
• Aisha Duggins, Wichita Northeast Magnet High School
• Brissa Gallegos, Wichita High School North
• Mary Henning, Wichita High School Northwest
• Derick Holmes, Wichita High School Southeast
• Kevin Kraus, Salina South High School
• Jennifer Mattar, Wichita Collegiate School
• Bridget McSorley, Kansas City, Kan., Bishop Miege High School
• Meenakshi Natesan, Wichita High School East
• Jenny Nguyen, Kapaun Mt. Carmel Catholic High School
• Madison Ripperger, Wichita, Kan., Trinity Academy
• Amy Vuong, Wichita High School Southeast
• Jackson Wilborn, Wichita Northeast Magnet High School

The students competed in DSI on Saturday, Nov. 16, with 328 total students competing. Two of the finalists will be selected as recipients of the Harry Gore Memorial $52,000 scholarship, which are among the largest undergraduate awards in Kansas.

To be invited to compete in the invitational, students had to have a 24 or higher ACT score and a minimum 3.50 cumulative GPA. The 12 finalists this year have an average ACT score of 29 and an average GPA of 3.95.

Once invited, students complete a packet of information, including essays and compete in an on-campus leadership competition. Finalists will be back on campus Wednesday, Jan. 29 for final interviews.

The announcement of the Gore Scholars will be at 11:30 a.m. Thursday, Jan. 30, in the Marcus Welcome Center. All finalists will receive competitive scholarship packages to attend WSU in the fall. 

This story has been tagged Prospective Students, Scholarships. See all RSS feeds here
Created on Monday, January 06, 2014; Last modified on Monday, January 06, 2014