Wichita State News

WSU makes annual pitch to keep area's best and brightest

Monday, October 27, 2008

For the third consecutive year, Wichita State University is aggressively targeting some of the Wichita area's best and brightest high school seniors in an effort to bring them to WSU

The Dean's Scholars Program is targeting more than 50 students this year. The program offers students a full ride for their freshmen year at WSU.

In addition to selecting students from designated Heights, Derby and Trinity high schools, Wichita State put out an "all call" to area students. The result is additional Dean's Scholars from Campus, Augusta, Wichita East, Wichita South, Wichita Southeast, Maize, Sedgwick, The Independent School, Northeast Magnet and Newton.

"This really opens the opportunity to a much broader audience," said Christine Schneikart-Luebbe, dean of enrollment services at WSU, and the person who initiated the program.

The selected students were chosen because their interests and abilities closely align with WSU strengths, said Schneikart-Luebbe, and "we want to provide these stellar students with the opportunity to meet with key WSU administrators and student leaders so they can learn firsthand all the benefits of becoming a Shocker.

"What I want to do with each of these Dean's Scholars will rival and, in many ways, surpass efforts commonly put forth by coaches to recruit student-athletes," said Schneikart-Luebbe. "We want to keep the best and brightest students in Wichita."

Because of their outstanding test scores and leadership abilities, the competition for these high school students mirrors highly recruited student-athletes.

To qualify for the Dean's Scholars Program, the students had to be admitted, although not committed to attending WSU.

Students who are named Dean's Scholars are asked to attend a specially designed program monthly during the school year. About half of the programs showcase academic opportunities and half introduce scholars to the social aspects of collegiate life at WSU.

Thirty-one of the 34 Dean's Scholars last year from Maize High School, The Independent School, Campus High School and Wichita Southeast High School are attending WSU this fall.

2008-09 WSU Dean's Scholars

Derby High School
Victoria Beasley, Justin Hall, Jillian Hansen, Adam Hemphill, Jessica Lara, Mason McCanless, William Murphy, Jessica Packard, Samantha Phouangphanith, Michael Porterfield, Corinne Wellemeyer.

Wichita Heights High School
Megan Deines, Euria George, Miles Kniep, Marcus McNeal, Lauren Reed, Cassandra Standley.

Trinity Academy
Sydney Blanton, Leeana Cargile, Juston Flynn, Lauren Hoch, Megan Holick, Alexandra Landon, Catherine Powell, Alexis Power, Matthew Schmidt, Jeremy Smith, Kayli Stephens, Tim Wiesner.

Members at Large
Michael Adams (Maize H.S.), Nathaniel Alexander (Wichita East H.S.), Seham Alyan (Northeast Magnet H.S.), Melissa Chinn (The Independent School), Andrew Esau (Newton H.S.), Evan Fahrbach (The Independent School), Kristen Fred (Maize H.S.), Montgomery Graham (Maize H.S.), Matt Hamer (Maize H.S.), Megan Hansen (Wichita Southeast H.S.), Seth Jackson (Wichita South H.S.), Anastassia Kutilova (Wichita Southeast H.S.), Rachel LaFever (Maize H.S.), Tanner McCleave (Maize H.S.), Derek Owen (Campus H.S.), Jarod Regier (Augusta H.S.), Nathan Riley (Wichita East H.S.), Hilaire Sampson (Wichita East H.S.), Dalton Walker (Sedgwick H.S.), Ashley Waswick (The Independent School), Kailey Westemeir (Maize H.S.), Nathan Wherritt (Northeast Magnet H.S.), Karina Williams (Wichita Northeast Magnet H.S.), Monica Williams (Maize H.S.), Trevor Williamson (The Independent School).

This story has been tagged Faculty/Staff, Prospective Students. See all RSS feeds here
Created on Monday, October 27, 2008; Last modified on Wednesday, November 19, 2008