Service and faculty awards spring 2011
May 18, 2011 4:02 PM | Print

Academe welcomes news from WSU faculty and staff about research, teaching and service activities. This column recognizes grants, honors, awards, presentations and publications, new appointments, new faculty, sabbaticals, retirements and deaths of our current and former colleagues.

2011 Distinguished Service Awards
The President's Distinguished Service Awards and the unclassified professionals' Wayne Carlisle Distinguished Service Award were presented during the Shocker Pride Celebration Tuesday, May 3. Here is a list of 2011 Shocker Pride honorees; their biographical information is available at

President's Distinguished Service Awards:
Ali Levine, administrative officer, School of Music
Mark McCain, director of radio and general manager, KMUW 89.1
Patty McLinden, senior administrative assistant, Health Professions Dean's Office
Mary Myers, administrative specialist, sport management
Larry Ramos, director, TRIO Talent Search Project Discovery
D. Paul Rillema, professor, chemistry
Larry Spurgeon, Larry Jones Faculty Fellow in Business Ethics, finance, real estate and decision science
Peter Zoller, associate professor, English

Wayne Carlisle Distinguished Service Award:
Marilyn Yourdon, director, Student Health Services

2011 University Faculty Awards
Wichita State faculty members were honored during the 2011 Faculty Awards on Tuesday, May 10, at the RSC Ballroom. Mildred Edwards with the Kansas Board of Regents gave remarks and assisted with presenting the awards. The honorees chosen are recognized for setting the gold standard for teaching, research and creative activities at WSU. Here is a list of 2011 Faculty Award honorees; their biographical information is available at

Excellence in Teaching:
Kelly Anderson, assistant professor, dental hygiene, College of Health Professions
Frank Rokosz, associate professor, human performance studies, College of Education

Community Research Award:
Deborah Ballard-Reisch, professor and Kansas Health Foundation Distinguished Chair in Strategic Communications, Elliott School of Communication

Leadership in the Advancement of Teaching:
Brien Bolin, associate professor, School of Social Work

Academy for Effective Teaching:
Jen-Chi Cheng, associate professor and chair, economics, W. Frank Barton School of Business

Excellence in Creative Activity:
Lynne Davis
, associate professor and Ann and Dennis Ross Endowed Faculty of Distinction in Organ, School of Music

Excellence in Research:
William Miles
, associate professor, economics, W. Frank Barton School of Business

Young Faculty Scholar:
Kirk Ring
, assistant professor, management, W. Frank Barton School of Business

Open house planned for WSU's OneStop
Innovation helps WSU School of Nursing reach students
Golf course to close at Wichita State
WSU expansion will support job growth, innovation
Tree planting honors KBOR anniversary
Wichita State announces Business Booster seminars
Help with math offered at Wichita State
WSU's Barton School gets new interim dean
Ulrich Museum Fall Opening Reception
Grant goes to KCEE
WSU School of Nursing one of 100 schools chosen
STEMpact2020 gets coordinator
Claycomb named as WSU Ventures director
WSU students study, perform opera in Italy
New ballistics lab started by Wichita State's NIAR
Bibb makes Health Professions her new home
New go-to-resource available for WSU students
© 1995-2014 Wichita State University. All rights reserved.
Valid HTML 401