Ron Matson, chairman of WSU's Department of Sociology and a longtime professor, has been named 2011 Kansas Professor of the Year. He is only the sixth professor from WSU to win the award.
Photo: File
WSU's Ron Matson wins 2011 Kansas Professor of the Year
Nov 17, 2011 10:09 AM | Print

Wichita State University sociology professor Ron Matson has been named the 2011 Kansas Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE).

The announcement was made today (Thursday, Nov. 17) at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Matson was chosen from nearly 300 top professors in the United States. He is one of only 27 state winners selected for the award.

Bill Bischoff
Bill Bischoff
Bill Bischoff, dean of WSU's Fairmount College for Liberal Arts and Sciences, said this is one of the most prestigious awards honoring U.S. professors.

"This award recognizes the most outstanding undergraduate faculty in the country: those who excel as teachers and influence the lives and careers of their students," Bischoff said. "Dr. Matson has consistently provided a quality educational experience for students that not only prepares them intellectually, but also promotes their personal growth."

'The best teacher I have ever known'

WSU alumnus Andy Blakemore called Matson's classes "laboratories of social life" and said he is fortunate to have had him as a teacher.

"It takes a masterful teacher to draw students out and help them teach each other, and Dr. Matson is such a teacher," Blakemore said. "He is simply the best teacher I have ever known and is well-deserving of praise and recognition for his abilities."

Previous Wichita State winners of the award are Mel Kahn, political science, 1989; Erach Talaty, chemistry, 1999; Peer Moore-Jansen, anthropology, 2002; Ellie Shore, psychology, 2005; and Jacquelyn Dillon-Krass, music education and string pedagogy, 2008.

Matson began his teaching career as a teaching associate in the sociology department at the University of Colorado in 1966. In 1970 he became an assistant professor at Wichita State and has been associate professor since 1997. He is the chairman and undergraduate coordinator for the Department of Sociology.

CASE and the Carnegie Foundation have been partners in offering the U.S. Professors of the Year awards program since 1981.

The U.S. Professors of the Year program is the only national program to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching and mentoring.

For more information on the award, go to

Created on Nov 17, 2011 10:09 AM; Last modified on Nov 18, 2011 10:41 AM
Temporary office relocations
Wichita State police lend helping hand
WSU makes case for special funding priorities
Revisions made to parking plan
High School Guest Program offering $500 scholarships
Collaboration to benefit WSU students
WSU camps introduce youth to engineering
WSU Foundation welcomes two new leaders
Wichita has 'secret source' of IT talent
WSU School of Nursing benefits from grant
Multi-disciplinary field study
WSU Foundation finishes strong year
WSU director to speak on racial profiling
WSU research uses all types of people
Shuttle system adds new stops
Permits to be required to park on main campus
WSU names new director of AEGD program
WSU reorganizes admin structure
WSU, WuShock logo at IndyCar Series
WSU hosting ACT Prep Workshop
New Health Professions dean honored
Wichita State welcomes FarmHouse fraternity to campus
WSU grad overcame tragedy to earn her degree
WSU to host forums for returning adults
'Forty Years/Forty Stories' at WSU museum
© 1995-2014 Wichita State University. All rights reserved.
Valid HTML 401