Eleven finalists chosen in Distinguished Scholarship Invitational
Jan 4, 2012 11:45 AM | Print

Wichita State University has chosen the top 11 finalists in the annual Distinguished Scholarship Invitational (DSI).

They are:
Saajan Bhakta, Wichita, Kan., Wichita High School Northwest
MaryAshton Floyd, Fort Worth, Texas, Paschal High School
Julia Hilts, Andover, Kan., Andover High School
Lauren Kater, Benton, Kan., Trinity Academy
Shannan Mehler, Wichita, Kan., Classical School of Wichita
Kelsey Pressnall, Bel Aire, Kan., Wichita High School East
Matthew Showalter, Lincoln, Neb., Lincoln High School
Caleb Smith, Wellsville, Kan., Wellsville High School
Nathan Templon, Wichita, Kan., Wichita Collegiate School
Megan Walthers, Towanda, Kan., Circle High School
Whitney Wilson, Carbondale, Kan., Santa Fe Trail High School

The students participated in one of the largest competitions in DSI history, with 359 students competing.

Two of the finalists will be selected as recipients of the Harry Gore Memorial $48,000 scholarship, one of the largest undergraduate scholarships in Kansas.

To be invited to participate in the invitational, students had to have a 24 or higher ACT score and a minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA.

Once invited, students complete a packet of information, including essays and letters of recommendation and compete in an on-campus leadership competition. Finalists will be back on campus Wednesday, Jan. 25, for final interviews.

The announcement of the Gore Scholars will be at 11:30 a.m. Thursday, Jan. 26, in the Marcus Welcome Center. All finalists will receive competitive scholarship packages to attend WSU in the fall.

Created on Jan 4, 2012 11:45 AM; Last modified on Jan 4, 2012 11:45 AM
Report shows Wichita State grads doing well
WSU students help the homeless
WSU students work on campus construction projects
WSU School of Nursing offers RN-BSN program
Historic bookcase returns to Wichita State
WSU professors seek input on study
Elliott School honors outstanding alums
WSU's Sigma Xi wins Chapter Award
Linwood Sexton Scholarship award winner
Wichita State physical education educator honored
New partner for WSU's tech cluster
KSBDC and PTAC offer free seminar
Russell named director for new center
WSU Nerd Union hosts LARP event
More K-12 schools teach engineering
Psychology professor, Children's Champion
Kansas Senate, House OK $2M for innovation campus
Virgin America still No. 1 airline
'Forty Years/Forty Stories' at WSU museum
February/March 2014 Academe at Wichita State
See a virtual walk-through of Shocker Hall
Wichita high schoolers win WSU Jabara Scholarships
© 1995-2014 Wichita State University. All rights reserved.
Valid HTML 401