Twelve finalists chosen in WSU scholarship invitational
Jan 6, 2014 9:46 AM | Print

Wichita State University has chosen the top 12 finalists in the annual Distinguished Scholarship Invitational (DSI).

Two students will be announced as recipients of the $52,000 Harry Gore Memorial Scholarship on Thursday, Jan. 30.

They are:
• Aisha Duggins, Wichita Northeast Magnet High School
• Brissa Gallegos, Wichita High School North
• Mary Henning, Wichita High School Northwest
• Derick Holmes, Wichita High School Southeast
• Kevin Kraus, Salina South High School
• Jennifer Mattar, Wichita Collegiate School
• Bridget McSorley, Kansas City, Kan., Bishop Miege High School
• Meenakshi Natesan, Wichita High School East
• Jenny Nguyen, Kapaun Mt. Carmel Catholic High School
• Madison Ripperger, Wichita, Kan., Trinity Academy
• Amy Vuong, Wichita High School Southeast
• Jackson Wilborn, Wichita Northeast Magnet High School

The students competed in DSI on Saturday, Nov. 16, with 328 total students competing. Two of the finalists will be selected as recipients of the Harry Gore Memorial $52,000 scholarship, which are among the largest undergraduate awards in Kansas.

To be invited to compete in the invitational, students had to have a 24 or higher ACT score and a minimum 3.50 cumulative GPA. The 12 finalists this year have an average ACT score of 29 and an average GPA of 3.95.

Once invited, students complete a packet of information, including essays and compete in an on-campus leadership competition. Finalists will be back on campus Wednesday, Jan. 29 for final interviews.

The announcement of the Gore Scholars will be at 11:30 a.m. Thursday, Jan. 30, in the Marcus Welcome Center. All finalists will receive competitive scholarship packages to attend WSU in the fall. 

Created on Jan 6, 2014 9:46 AM; Last modified on Jan 6, 2014 9:52 AM
Innovative splint developed by WSU researchers
Rhatigan Student Center renovation revealed
WSU finance students study the market in real time
Students feel at home in Shocker Hall
WSU expansion will support job growth, innovation
Nursing student workshop to be held at WSU
WSU hosting 'Writing Now, Reading Now' series
WSU to host ACT Math Workshop
David Cabela to speak at WSU forum
Constitution Day activity at WSU
The Elliott School of Communication turns 25
Kansas Council for Economic Education receives grant
Ray to discuss photography at reception
Students, community welcome at WSU outdoor movie
AQR holiday travel forecast: Book early
CEDBR now offers indicators in optimal format
Summer 2014 Academe
Tree planting honors WSU's KBOR anniversary
Wichita State announces Business Booster seminars
Help with math offered at Wichita State
WSU's Barton School gets new interim dean
WSU School of Nursing one of 100 schools chosen
STEMpact2020 gets coordinator
Claycomb named as WSU Ventures director
Innovation helps WSU School of Nursing reach students
© 1995-2014 Wichita State University. All rights reserved.
Valid HTML 401