Derick Holmes, pictured with WSU President John Bardo, is one of two Kansas high school seniors to win the $52,000 Gore Scholarship.
Photo: Aaron Lair
Kansas high school seniors win WSU's Gore Scholarships
Jan 30, 2014 12:00 PM | Print

Kansas high school students Derick Holmes and Kevin Kraus have won Wichita State University's Harry Gore Memorial Scholarships.

They will receive $13,000 a year for four years to attend Wichita State, a total of $52,000 each.

Holmes is a senior at Wichita High School Southeast, and Kraus is a senior at Salina South High School.

The scholarships, awarded annually at WSU, recognize leadership and academic skills and are two of the largest undergraduate scholarships in Kansas.

Derick Holmes

Holmes, who became an Eagle Scout at 14, is interested in studying engineering at Wichita State.

He was a student government representative for three years and was elected class president this year. Holmes is also a member of the Superintendent Advisory Council, National Honor Society and Students Against Destructive Decisions, as well as a graduate of the Wichita State Shocker Leadership Academy.

A state champion bowler, Holmes spends a lot of time volunteering at the YMCA, Bob Dole Veterans Hospital and the Ronald McDonald House.

"Considering Derick's spirit, overwhelming desire to help others and to be the best person he can be, his potential for leadership is only constrained by availability of opportunities and compatible interests," said Derek Morgan, Holmes' scout leader. "Derick is genuinely drawn to help others while sharpening himself in the process, and he does so in a giving, selfless style."

Kevin Kraus

Kraus – a three-year varsity captain of the Scholars Bowl team – is interested in studying aerospace engineering at WSU.

Kevin Kraus
Kevin Kraus

He is a member of the National Honor Society, Model UN, jazz band and Junior Leadership Salina, as well as co-founder and co-chairman of the Youth Ministry Team.

Kraus served as drum major his sophomore, junior and senior year of high school and received superior ratings for individual solos at regional and state band competitions.

"His impressive intellect notwithstanding, Kevin's ability to lead small groups and class activities was truly exceptional," said Salina South AP world history teacher Kevin Poland. "When you combine Kevin's intellect, rhetoric skills and historiography skills, Kevin was able to balance opinions, sources and evidence to effectively lead a discussion."


To be considered for the Gore Scholarships, Holmes and Kraus competed in the Distinguished Scholarship Invitational in November. Students must have a 24 or higher ACT score and a minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA.

Gore scholarships have been awarded annually since 1954 to freshmen entering WSU who display outstanding potential for leadership. Theodore and Ralph Gore established the Harry Gore Memorial Scholarship in 1952.

A nine-member committee was tasked with choosing the two recipients of the Gore Scholarship this year, and 328 high school seniors participated in the competition.

Created on Jan 30, 2014 12:00 PM; Last modified on Jan 30, 2014 12:42 PM
Rhatigan Renewal revives campus life
Innovative splint developed by WSU researchers
Rhatigan Student Center renovation revealed
WSU finance students study the market in real time
Students feel at home in Shocker Hall
WSU expansion will support job growth, innovation
Wichita State dedicates Beggs Hall
Workshop to prepare students for ACT
Nursing student workshop to be held at WSU
WSU hosting 'Writing Now, Reading Now' series
WSU to host ACT Math Workshop
David Cabela to speak at WSU forum
Constitution Day activity at WSU
The Elliott School of Communication turns 25
Kansas Council for Economic Education receives grant
Ray to discuss photography at reception
Students, community welcome at WSU outdoor movie
AQR holiday travel forecast: Book early
CEDBR now offers indicators in optimal format
Summer 2014 Academe
Tree planting honors WSU's KBOR anniversary
WSU's Barton School gets new interim dean
WSU School of Nursing one of 100 schools chosen
STEMpact2020 gets coordinator
Claycomb named as WSU Ventures director
© 1995-2014 Wichita State University. All rights reserved.
Valid HTML 401