Two WSU debate teams qualify for national tournament
Mar 12, 2009 11:10 AM | Print

The Wichita State University debate teams of Eric Robinson and Matt Coleman, and Patrick Rinker and Brian Box, have earned coveted invitations to the 2009 National Debate Tournament (NDT) being held March 26-30 at the University of Texas.

It has been about 10 years since WSU has qualified two teams to the national tournament, and it's only the third time in more than 60 years.

Only 78 teams – 10 percent of all the teams that debate across the country – are invited to the prestigious tournament.

Senior Matt Coleman will make his fourth appearance at the tournament.

Only a few students from across the country attend the NDT four times, and Coleman will join an elite company of college debaters who have accomplished this feat.

Coleman and Robinson's current debate record is 53-12, an 81 percent winning record.

Rinker and Box posted a 6-2 record at the district qualifying tournament to earn their spot.

This story has been tagged Students, Debate. See all RSS feeds here
Created on Mar 12, 2009 11:10 AM; Last modified on Mar 12, 2009 11:12 AM
Report shows Wichita State grads doing well
WSU students help the homeless
WSU students work on campus construction projects
WSU School of Nursing offers RN-BSN program
Historic bookcase returns to Wichita State
WSU professors seek input on study
Elliott School honors outstanding alums
WSU's Sigma Xi wins Chapter Award
Linwood Sexton Scholarship award winner
Wichita State physical education educator honored
New partner for WSU's tech cluster
KSBDC and PTAC offer free seminar
Russell named director for new center
WSU Nerd Union hosts LARP event
More K-12 schools teach engineering
Psychology professor, Children's Champion
Kansas Senate, House OK $2M for innovation campus
Virgin America still No. 1 airline
'Forty Years/Forty Stories' at WSU museum
February/March 2014 Academe at Wichita State
See a virtual walk-through of Shocker Hall
Wichita high schoolers win WSU Jabara Scholarships
© 1995-2014 Wichita State University. All rights reserved.
Valid HTML 401