Shocker debate team starts season with win
Sep 29, 2009 2:51 PM | Print

The Wichita State University debate team started its season off with a first place finish at its first tournament.

Senior Eric Robinson and junior Brian Box earned first place at the University of Northern Iowa, defeating Emporia State University in the final round on a 3-0 decision. They defeated Northwestern University 3-0 in the semifinals and were 6-2 in the preliminary debates.

This is the second year Robinson has won this tournament.
WSU sophomores Creighton Coleman and Matt Munday posted a 5-3 preliminary record, defeating Macalester College in the octafinals before losing to Emporia State in the quarterfinals.

The freshman team of Tom Garvey and Tyler Joe also competed at the tournament, earning their first two college debate wins. They were among the only two first-year debaters competing in the open division of the tournament.

This story has been tagged Students, Debate. See all RSS feeds here
Rhatigan Renewal revives campus life
Innovative splint developed by WSU researchers
WSU finance students study the market in real time
Students feel at home in Shocker Hall
WSU expansion will support job growth, innovation
Wichita State Musical Theater presents 'The Spitfire Grill'
Economic Outlook Conference, Oct. 9
History Department special presentation
Workshop to prepare students for ACT
Wichita State dedicates Beggs Hall
Nursing student workshop to be held at WSU
WSU hosting 'Writing Now, Reading Now' series
WSU to host ACT Math Workshop
David Cabela to speak at WSU forum
Constitution Day activity at WSU
The Elliott School of Communication turns 25
Kansas Council for Economic Education receives grant
Ray to discuss photography at reception
Students, community welcome at WSU outdoor movie
AQR holiday travel forecast: Book early
CEDBR now offers indicators in optimal format
Summer 2014 Academe
Tree planting honors WSU's KBOR anniversary
WSU's Barton School gets new interim dean
WSU School of Nursing one of 100 schools chosen
© 1995-2014 Wichita State University. All rights reserved.
Valid HTML 401