Twelve high schoolers chosen as WSU scholarship finalists
Thursday, December 13, 2012 8:35 AM

Wichita State University has chosen the top 12 finalists in the annual Distinguished Scholarship Invitational (DSI).

They are:

  • Courtney Allen, Wichita, KS, Wichita High School Southeast
  • Blair Benton, Benton, KS, Circle High School
  • TJ Blake, Hutchinson, KS, Hutchinson High School
  • David Brink, Wichita, KS, Eisenhower High School
  • Hassan Farhoud, Wichita, KS, Wichita Collegiate School
  • Kelsey Hanna, Wichita, KS, Rose Hill High School
  • Hannah Hoetmer, Wichita, KS, Goddard High School
  • Reegan Innes, Mulvane, KS, Mulvane High School
  • Amanda Johnson, Wichita, KS, Wichita High School Northwest
  • Carley Larson, Bel Aire, KS, Wichita Heights High School
  • Sachin Pendse, Bel Aire, KS, Wichita High School East
  • Kendall Winterhalter, Wichita, KS, Wichita High School South

The students competed in the largest competition in DSI history, with 413 students competing. Two of the finalists will be selected as recipients of the Harry Gore Memorial $48,000 scholarship, which are among the largest undergraduate awards in Kansas.

To be invited to compete in the invitational, students had to have a 24 or higher ACT score and a minimum 3.50 cumulative GPA.

Once invited, students complete a packet of information, including essays and compete in an on-campus leadership competition. Finalists will be back on campus Wednesday, Jan. 30 for final interviews.

The announcement of the Gore Scholars will be at 11:30 a.m. on Thursday, Jan. 31, in the Marcus Welcome Center. All finalists will receive competitive scholarship packages to attend WSU in the fall.

# # # # #
Contact: Mandy Ronen, program manager, Office of Admissions, (316) 978-3085 or mandy.ronen@wichita.edu.
Created on Dec 13, 2012 8:35 AM; Last modified on Jan 22, 2013 3:47 PM