

The Glenn Cunningham Agricultural Journalist of the Year A W A R D



The Glenn Cunningham Agricultural Journalist of the Year A W A R D

Honors the best overall writer or writers of the year and remembers **Glenn Cunningham**, farm editor of *The Des Moines Register*, the first Ag Journalist of the Year winner, and NAAJ executive secretary-treasurer for many years.



JUDGE

Rebecca Jones

Veteran features writer, *Rocky Mountain News* Pastor of St. James Church, Wheat Ridge, Colo.



Agricultural Journalist of the Year **Glenn Cunningham Award Finalists**

1 TECHNICAL 1 ONGOING COVERAGE or SERIES



Nick Bart Pfankuch Lowrey South Dakota News Watch **1 FEATURE**



Susan Ioe Ferriss Yerardi The Center for Public Integrity

1 COLUMN **Pamela Smith** DTN/Progressive Farmer





1 SPOT NEWS Chris Clayton DTN/Progressive Farmer

1 PROFILE Sierra McClain **Capital Press**





1 EDITORIAL Greg Hillyer DTN/Progressive Farmer

1 BLOG **Ed White** Producer







Sky Chadde



Rachel Axon Bagenstose

Midwest Center for Investigative Reporting | USA Today

Kyle

NAAJ 2021



The Western



The Glenn Cunningham 2021 Agricultural Journalists of the Year



Pfankuch Lowrey

South Dakota News Watch







66

All the entries were well done, and at times I felt like I was comparing apples to oranges, given that all the entries were such good examples of what their given genres of writing should be. But in the end, I feel like I was most impressed with the work of Bart Pfankuch and Nick Lowrey of South Dakota News Watch.







South Dakota News Watch

66

They approached the topic of COVID's impact on their state's agricultural industry from so many angles that might not have been readily apparent at first. They got on top of the story from the beginning.







"

I feel like they did their readers a huge public service, looking at everything from how beef producers, sheep farmers, and corn growers were being effected to the impact on small towns and health care systems.







"

If anyone in South Dakota was tempted to think that this was an urban problem that would not profoundly impact rural lives, reading Pfankuch's and Lowrey's stories would quickly disabuse them of that notion.





North American Agricultural Journalists **2020 NAAJ WRITING CONTEST**

CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL!

Read all the winners online



The North American Agricultural Journalists **AUDREY MACKIEWICZ S P E C I A L A W A R D**



The NAAJ AUDREY MACKIEWICZ S P E C I A L A W A R D



Presented to a publication which has expanded its coverage of agriculture.

Honors **Audrey Mackiewicz**, 1924-2009, of the *Sandusky* (Ohio) *Register* and *Firelands Farmer*, who was the first female president of the North American Agricultural Journalists and the longtime executive secretary-treasurer of the group.





The NAAJ AUDREY MACKIEWICZ S P E C I A L A W A R D



FOR EXPANSION OF AGRICULTURAL COVERAGE IN 2020





FOR EXPANSION OF AGRICULTURAL COVERAGE IN 2020 The NAAJ AUDREY MACKIEWICZ SPECIAL AWARD

EXPANDED CONTENT, NEW PRODUCTS

field posts

ailable online



The Bottom Line on Meat in a Crisis

Discussions on farming, ag policy, business, weather, market issues

Reader Insights Farmers surveyed on tractors, combines, planters and drills



Facebook Live Cattle Reports: Weekly prices and trends wrapup



The North American Agricultural Journalists J.S. RUSSELL A W A R D



The NAAJ J.S. RUSSELL A W A R D

Presented to a member who has given outstanding service to NAAJ.

Honors J.S. Russell, the longtime farm editor of *The Des Moines Register* & *Tribune*, who was a founder and first president of the Newspaper Farm Editors of America, the precursor to NAAJ.





The NAAJ J.S. RUSSELL A W A R D



ALICE MANNETTE The Hutchinson News

OUTSTANDING SERVICE TO NAAJ





The North American Agricultural Journalists BILL ZIPF A W A R D



The NAAJ BILL ZIPF A W A R D

The award recognizes each NAAJ president in turn for the year's worth of extra work and chores for the good of the organization.

Honors **Bill Zipf**, 1914-1981, of *The Columbus Dispatch*, who served as NAAJ president in 1972.





The NAAJ BILL ZIPF A W A R D



TODD NEELY DTN/Progressive Farmer President, North American Agricultural Journalists

2020





www.naaj.net

-30-

