Mathew Muether

Monday, August 26, 2024 - 3:30 pm HH 211

## Faculty Senate Meeting



## Approval of Minutes

From May 13, 2024

## President's Report

# Welcome New and Returning Senate and Committee Members!!

- Meetings this year are in-person.
  - We will not host a general live stream of the meetings.
  - The hope is to bring us together for engaging and productive meetings.
  - For anticipated absences or to request an exception to attend remotely, please notify <u>Lee Ann Birdwell</u>.
- Official email communications via listserv at <u>facultysenatesenators-</u> <u>L@listserv.wichita.edu</u>.
  - Senators are welcome to message this list.
  - I hope this makes official meeting and senate announcements more visible.
- I encourage all senators to review our <u>senate rules</u> and look forward to working with all of you this academic year as we address the needs and priorities of the University Faculty.
- Following today's meeting: Please join me and the executive committee at the Shocker Sports Grill and Lanes in the RSC.

Welcome New Faculty
This year we are welcoming 47 new faculty to campus.

Sina Rahiminejad

Nawaf Aljohani

Na Zhang

Zahra Ziaei

Stacy Shipman

Lauren Bryant

Christopher Proppe

Rui Dai

Kayla Shebshayevkich

Alaina Clarice

Courtney Long

Melissa Penkava Koza

Jacob McGlaun

Benjamin Juhnke

Elymar Marin

Calee Courter

Julie Nash

Brittni Mayagoitia

Sara Idol

Rachel Johnston

Caitlin Kass

**Bridget Grover** 

Jielong Cai

Yuanyuan Gao

Lokesh Das

Ahmad Esmaeili

Shruti Kshirsagar

Souvika Sarkar

Wei Sun

Christin Manning

Christopher Rees

Michael Birzer

Adam Scheffler

Julia Schwartz

Melissa Scruggs

Cheryl Golden

Stephanie Newfold

Ye il Kwon

**Edward Bart IV** 

Edma Delgado-Solorzano

**Aubrey Wolfe** 

Scott Hill

Angela Sager

Adrian Manriquez

Refika Sarionder Kreinath

Tetsuya Sato

Mia Ocean

**BUS** 

**CAS** 

**CFA** 

**CHP** 

ENG

Honors



### Provost Search Updates

- •Late September: Search committee interviews of semi-finalists.
- •October: Finalists will visit campus with opportunities to meet with faculty, staff, students and additional university stakeholders.
- The University is currently search for a new senior executive vice president and provost.

(https://www.wichita.edu/administration/president/provost\_search.php)

- 16-person search committee
  - Search firm Isaacson, Miller is facilitating.



Patricia Bradley >> Faculty Representative



Jolynn Dowling >> Faculty Senate



Dr. Mathew Muether >>
Faculty Senate President



Dr. Timothy Shade >>
Faculty Representative



Shirlene Small >>
Faculty Representative



#### Policy 3.42 and 3.43, Tuition Assistance

- These policies are being revised to clarify the tuition assistance programs for employees (3.42) and spouses and dependent children of employees (3.43), including updating definitions, eligibility, requirements, and administrative procedures. In addition, policy was reorganized and reformatted for purposes of clarification and to conform with the University's standard policy format.
- Updated the definition for benefit-eligible employee, to include teaching faculty as well as non-teaching faculty, and to clarify that ICAA employees are eligible for assistance.



## Rules Committee Report

#### Committee Member Nominations

- Susan Castro (LAS Humanities) for Rules Committee
- oJeff Jarmin (LAS Social Sci) for Rules Committee
- OJulie Henderson (LAS Humanities) for Gen Ed Committee
- oTerrance Figy (LAS Nat Sci) for the Libraries Committee



## New Business

#### New Business

- Introduction of New SVP of Administration, Finance & Operations – Aaron Mitchell [10 min]
- CTAC Updates Courtney McHenry [20 min]
- Revised Course Meeting Pattern Study Jeff Pulaski [20 min]

## As May Arise