Fairmount College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Tenure and Promotion Committee

Report for Academic Year 2020-2021

Summary

There were eleven members of the LAS College Tenure and Promotion Committee for 2020-21: Andi Bannister – Criminal Justice, Noell Birondo – Philosophy, Andy Bowman – Intensive English Language Center, Steve Brady – Mathematics and Statistics, Maojun Gong - Chemistry, Dave McDonald – Biology, Robin Henry - History, Twyla Hill – Sociology, Kerry Jones – English, Mary Waters – English, Sam Yeager – Hugo Wall School of Public Affairs.

Twyla Hill chaired the committee and Noell Birondo served as secretary.

Dave McDonald served as chair of the Non-Tenure Track (NTT) committee with Andi Bannister, Andy Bowman, Kerry Jones, and Sam Yeager.

The committee met six separate times for a total of approximately 15 hours to organize and to deliberate twelve cases. The cases comprised of four candidates for non-tenure track promotion, two assistant professor candidates for promotion and tenure, four candidates for promotion to full professor, and two candidates for Professor Incentive Review (PIR). The committee first met on September 11, 2020 for an organizational meeting, began deliberations on October 26, and completed reviews on November 6, 2020.

The committee thanks Associate Dean David Eichhorn for his participation at the organizational committee meeting and listening to deliberations. The committee also thanks Senior Assistant Dean Cheryl Miller for her efforts in shepherding candidates through the process and collecting and organizing the review materials, and Joyce DalPorto-Ward for assistance in creating electronic documents.

Results

The committee made positive recommendations for all four of the candidates seeking nontenure track promotion. Dean Hippisley's recommendations for these cases followed those of the committee.

The committee made positive recommendations for two candidates seeking tenure and promotion to Associate Professor. The Dean's recommendations followed those of the committee.

The committee recommended three candidates for promotion to Full professor be promoted. The Dean's recommendations for all cases followed those of the committee.

The committee recommended two candidates for PIR be awarded. The Dean's recommendation followed those of the committee.

The University committee met in January and upheld the recommendations made by the College committee and the Dean in all cases.