## Faculty Support and Fellowship Awards (FSFA) Committee Report 2018-19

Committee Members: Rob Zettle – Chair; Richard Armstrong, Darren DeFrain, Buma Fridman, Robin Henry, and Bin Shuai.

The Committee initially met on October 2, 2018 to review nine applications for sabbatical for the 2019-20 academic year. Bin Shuai did not attend the meeting, but submitted her rankings to Cheryl Miler prior to the meeting and they were incorporated into the committee's final rankings. At that meeting, one of the applicants had not yet been tenured, and at the direction of Dean Hippisley, was not reviewed. That directive, however, was subsequently reversed and this remaining applicant was reviewed by the committee via email in early November, Thus, ultimately 10 applicants were reviewed and recommended for sabbatical leave.

The Committee also made a recommendation that information about any previous sabbatical leaves by applicants be provided to it for consideration. Having this information consistently presented for all applicants would be helpful insofar as the application asks that a summary be provided of activities "over the last 10 years, or since your last sabbatical leave." Having such information would enable the Committee to better evaluate the degree to which previous sabbaticals by applicants successfully met their intended objectives. A copy of a sabbatical final report would likely serve this same purpose in which the outcomes of a previous leave are clearly identified.