LAS Faculty Assembly Thursday, September 10, 2015 100 Lindquist Hall

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 pm by Dean Ron Matson.

1. Agenda

Guest Tony Vizzini, Provost and Senior Vice President, was introduced. Vizzini asked for questions from the faculty.

Wilson Baldridge, Department Chair of Modern and Classical Languages and Professor, asked about plans for transitioning temporary faculty to full time faculty. Provost Vizzini stated that we need to "do right" by these members of WSU, but long term funds are not available (annual REU funds are currently used to fund temporary appointments).

Jay Price, Department Chair of History and Professor, asked about the status of "Top Hat", a tool for on-line learning. Vizzini stated that the university has sanctioned products for on-line learning, and he asked that faculty use these tools. "Top Hat" is not one of these tools. To remedy the problem, students who purchased "Top Hat" will be reimbursed by departments.

Continuing on this thread, David Eichhorn, Department Chair & Professor, asked about the university policy for students using smart phones rather than clickers in courses. Vizzini noted that clickers work in concert with BlackBoard, but secondary software (e.g., "Turning Point" or "Top Hat") does not protect faculty and students and is a violation of FERPA. Use of smart phones, however, is something that should be discussed to move the university forward.

Holger Meyer, Associate Professor and Director of Physics, asked if additional information on these policies could be made available. Vizzini stated that these data are in an email that was recently sent to faculty. He noted that the faculty interest in this topic is moving the university forward.

Jeff Hershfield, Associate Professor of Philosophy, asked if it would be beneficial for LAS to provide a whitepaper on the importance of the Dept. of Philosophy. Vizzini requested that any information that can assist in focusing attention on "value" and "worth" (in a monetary sense) within General Education would be worthwhile.

Kirk Lancaster, Mathematics & Statistics, asked if faculty could assist with admissions, perhaps in the form of assisting with campus tours and providing accurate information. Vizzini noted that Admissions has a list of contact personnel for departments, and suggested that faculty examine the list.

- 2. Approval of minutes. Jeff Hershfield approved the minutes as submitted; seconded by Rick Armstrong.
- 3. Introduction of New Faculty and Staff

Anthropology: Rachelle Meinecke, Elizabeth Paris English: Amy Parker (not present), Carrie Dickison

Physics: Terrence Figy

Psychology: Joel Suss, Brendan Clark LAS Advising Center: Maria Thompson

LAS Dean's Office: Carey Glenn

4. Announcements

- September 22 Kansas Court of Appeals will hear cases on campus as part of U.S. Constitution Day Events.
- As recommended by the LAS Advisory Council,
 Fairmount College of Liberal Arts and Sciences has a Facebook page for PR of
 upcoming events and sharing information. The LAS Advisory Council recommends
 that all departments develop a Facebook page for PR. Thanks to Cheryl Miller for
 administering the page.
- Dept. of Chemistry will host Watkins speaker Neil L. Kelleher (Northwestern University) this fall.
- Department of History will host Kim Hogeland, acquisitions editor at the University Press of Kansas, who will speak on publishing on September 18 at 10:30 in RSC.
- Dept. of Psychology will host Scott Wituk and Sarah Jolley who will present "What's a Community Psychologist to Do About ... Health Homes and Indentifying Community Needs," as part of a Psychology Department Colloquium, Sept. 15, 3:30-5 p.m.
- This is the first year that the tenure and promotion process is using an electronic system for documents. Documents must be submitted by 11:59pm on Sept. 11. Please watch calendars for other important dates.

5. College Governance Documents

Marti Smith, former Chair of the College Council, provided a summary of the changes to the LAS governing documents. Changes were made to grammar and syntax and to clarify processes. Substantive changes included:

- A) disciplines added (e.g., Physics)
- B) election procedures, and
- C) provision for remote electronic voting for matters that fall within the faculty assembly and "extreme circumstances".

Clarifications to processes included:

- A) how each LAS committees deal with sabbatical leave (now election-based)
- B) naming of College Council committees (now "A", "B", and "C" that are assigned duties on a rotating basis), and
- C) selection of Curriculum Committee members (shared seats are clarified).

Discussion of changes began with Jeff Hershfield who asked about changes regarding the Tenure and Promotion committee. Smith stated that changes are based on election by the faculty. Eichhorn asked if a member can step down from the T&P Committee and not be replaced. Smith responded affirmatively. Herschfield asked if the Dean decides on the deferral, and Smith responded that the College Council was responsible.

Dean Matson called for a vote to accept the changes to the LAS Governing document as they were amended. Faculty approved. Changes were passed.

6. Dean's remarks

- LAS enrollment has declined about 5% in engineering, math and sciences, humanities, social sciences, and health professions. Enrollment in 2014 was 156,000 compared with the 2015 enrollment of 151,000. LAS has declined about 400 students from 2014. The reason is not yet analyzed. President Bardo confirmed that enrollment has declined across the nation for liberal arts and sciences. Tied to enrollment is growth and new positions. This year, three new positions were funded from outside funds. This is not an ideal situation.
- Accreditation by the Higher Learning Commission is less than 1 year away.
 Assessments are ongoing at many levels, and much energy continues to be expended on this essential certification.
- External research funds have increased from \$5.8 million in 2014 to \$7 million in 2015. Matson congratulated the faculty on their successes, especially in this difficult funding environment.
- Moment of silence was observed for the following LAS faculty who passed away since the last Faculty Assembly: Lucio Arteaga (Emeritus Professor of Mathematics, died May 4), Sharon Miles (former Foundation Director for LAS, died July 13), Art Rohn (retired Professor of Anthropology, died August 8 and a memorial service will be held Sept. 24, 4-6 pm in Neff Hall), Karl Heinz Schlesier (retired Professor of Anthropology, died August 23), LaVona Spencer (long-time academic adviser, died August 19 and a memorial service is planned for spring).
- College Council will carry out an evaluation of Dean Matson (at his request). This evaluation is not a requirement at this time. Because he has served as interim Dean for two years and formally as the Dean for another year, he is interested in feedback from faculty and staff. Matson requested that data be shared with Vice President Vizzini. Faculty and staff should expect electronic evaluations in the fall semester. Data will be collected by David Wright's office in light of conflict of interest from those entities within the Dean's office or college.
- Marti Smith, former Chair of the College Council, thanked the LAS Office for assistance. Peer Moore-Jansen, Anthropology Department Chair and Professor, asked for applause for the LAS staff.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:00 p.m.