Assistantships in the School of Music offer a variety of financial assistance in your time at WSU. Students who apply for graduate study will automatically be considered for an assistantship. Once you apply to the graduate school, please make contact with the Graduate Coordinator (Dr. Timothy Shade, timothy.shade@wichita.edu) and the advisor of your desired major to let them know of your interest in an assistantship. Certain assistantships have specific audition requirements to earn the position. Please read the job descriptions carefully for audition details.

The deadline for first-round consideration for admission to the School of Music graduate program is December 15; the second-round deadline is February 15. Admission application is required before auditions are granted.

Note: assistants granted positions with the Wichita Symphony are paid additionally by the orchestra.

Advisors:

Flute – Dr. Carmen Lemoine, carmen.lemoine@wichita.edu

Oboe – Prof. Andréa Banke, andrea.banke@wichita.edu

Clarinet – Prof. Rachelle Goter, rachelle.goter@wichita.edu

Bassoon – Prof. Zach Hague, zachary.hague@wichita.edu

Saxophone – Prof. James Pisano, james.pisano@wichita.edu

Trumpet – Dr. David Hunsicker, david.hunsicker@wichita.edu

Horn – Dr. Jeb Wallace, jeb.wallace@wichita.edu

Trombone – Prof. Matt Blauer, matt.blauer@wichita.edu

Euph/Tuba – Prof. Phil Black, phillip.black@wichita.edu

Percussion – Prof. Jerry Scholl, gerald.scholl@wichita.edu

 

Opera – Prof. Alan Held, alan.held@wichita.edu

Bands/Instrumental Conducting – Dr. Timothy Shade, timothy.shade@wichita.edu

Orchestra/Orchestral Conducting – Dr. Mark Laycock, mark.laycock@wichita.edu

Choral Conducting – Dr. Michael Hanawalt, michael.hanawalt@wichita.edu

Music Education-Instrumental – Dr. Steve Oare, steve.oare@wichita.edu

Music Education-Vocal – Dr. Tom Wine, tom.wine@wichita.edu

Special Music Education – Dr. Elaine Bernstorf, elaine.bernstorf@wichita.edu

Musicology – Dr. Kelly St. Pierre, kelly.stpierre@wichita.edu

Composition/Music Theory – Dr. Dean Roush, dean.roush@wichita.edu

 

Below are links to job descriptions for all assistantship opportunities within the school of music: