Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
A person who is a Kansas resident for tuition and fee purposes is eligible for in-state
tuition at state universities. Please read and consider the following FAQs to determine if
you might qualify for in-state tuition.
- Who sets policies regarding residency?
- Where can I get a copy of residency-related regulations and statutes?
- How is my residency status for tuition determined?
- What is the basic rule regarding residency for tuition and fee purposes at state universities?
- What if I used to be a resident but left the state and now have returned?
- Can I become a resident while going to school full-time?
- I've lived in Kansas for over year; am I a resident now?
- I just married a Kansan; does that make a difference?
- Can a foreign student become a resident?
- Are there any special exceptions to these rules?
- I have heard there are new rules for people who are or have been in the military. What are they?
- What should I do if I have been classified as a non-resident and I believe that is wrong?
- Is it possible that I am not a resident anywhere for tuition and fee purposes?
The laws and regulations regarding residency for tuition and fee purposes are established
by the Kansas Legislature and the Kansas Board of Regents. State universities are
required to follow these rules and may not establish their own. The Legislature’s and the
Board’s rules are unique to residency for tuition and fee purposes at the state universities,
and residency for other purposes, such as for community college tuition, may differ.
Residency Regulations - Kansas Administrative Regulations (K.A.R.) from the Kansas Board of Regents website.
Residency Statutes - Links below are for the residency-related Kansas Statutes Annotated (K.S.A.) from the Kansas State Legislature website:
|K.S.A. 48-3601||K.S.A. 76-711||K.S.A. 76-729|
|K.S.A. 76-730||K.S.A. 76-731||K.S.A. 76-731a|
Your residency status is initially determined by the WSU Admissions Office working with the Registrar. The determination is based on the information provided in your application to WSU. The Registrar’s decision is guided by the laws and regulations established by the Kansas Legislature and the Board of Regents. (K.A.R. 88-2-1)
Generally, if you (or your parents, if you are a minor) have lived in Kansas more than one year (12 months), you have not been enrolled at a state university during that time, and you intend to stay in Kansas indefinitely, you will be considered a resident for tuition and fee purposes. In other words, you demonstrate that you have chosen to live in Kansas for at least 12 months because you want to make Kansas your permanent home and not just because you want to get in-state tuition. (K.S.A. 76-729 and K.A.R. 88-3-2)
If you can prove you were a resident for tuition and fee purposes within the last five years (60 months) and that you have returned to live in Kansas, you will be assessed tuition and fees at resident rates. (K.S.A. 76-729(a)(1)).
Usually, no. Someone who comes to Kansas to go to a state university and who is a full-time student has to overcome a strong presumption that he or she is only here temporarily for the duration of the educational program. Overcoming that presumption can be very difficult to do while remaining a full-time student. The answer to the next question provides more information on the factors that may indicate intent to be a resident in Kansas. (K.A.R. 88-3-2)
Qualifying as a resident for fee purposes requires more than just being present in the state for a year. The Registrar considers various factors (see K.A.R. 88-3-2) if they have existed for at least 12 months, to determine your intent to be a Kansas resident. No one factor alone is determinative of residency.
It might. The residency status of married individuals is determined separately for each spouse, but if you have been married more than 12 months, it will be considered a factor in your application for residency. (K.A.R. 88-3-7 and 88-3-2)
Usually, no. Anyone who is here on a temporary visa—including student, training and practical experience visas—must leave this country once the purpose for which he or she was allowed to enter the county has been met. Not having permission to stay in the country permanently, such persons cannot demonstrate the requisite intent to make Kansas their permanent home. (K.A.R. 88-3-2)
Yes, even if someone does not qualify for in-state tuition rates because they have not been a Kansas resident for twelve months prior to applying for admittance at a state university, Kansas law allows in-state tuition rates for certain categories of people and their spouses or dependents. These include: certain Kansas high school graduates; current military personnel and certain veterans; people who have been recruited to work in Kansas; persons who lost their resident status within six months of enrollment (if they return to Kansas); a dependent student whose parents are divorced, as long as at least one parent is a Kansas resident as defined by applicable statutes; and employees of state universities. If you want to know if someone falls into any of these categories, contact the WSU Office of Registrar. (K.S.A. 76-729 and 76-731a; K.A.R. 88-3-8a, 88-3-9, 88-3-10, 88-3-11, and 88-3-13)
11. I have heard there are special rules for people who are or have been in the military.
What are they?
Effective July 1, 2015, in-state resident tuition rates are available to qualifying
veterans eligible for federal education benefits, along with all current members of
the armed forces, if they have been admitted to one of the 32 public postsecondary
colleges or a state university in Kansas.
This in-state tuition rate is available to qualifying veterans and all current members of the armed forces (including army, navy, marine corps, air force, coast guard, Kansas army or air national guard, or any branch of the military reserves of the United States), along with spouses and dependent children, who are enrolled or have been accepted for admission at a Kansas postsecondary educational institution. There is no requirement that such a student have previously resided in Kansas, prior to admission.
For assistance in determining the availability of in-state tuition rates pursuant to this 2015 law, please contact the WSU Office of the Registrar.
If you disagree with the University’s determination, you may appeal the decision to the residency committee at WSU. The Registrar’s office has forms for you to use to file an appeal. The appeal must be filed within 30 days of the date you were notified of the determination. The determination of the residency committee is final and subject only to review by a court. Note: The Board of Regents cannot change the determination of the Registrar or the residency committee. (K.A.R. 88-3-1)
Yes. The information provided here only applies to residency decisions related to the tuition and fees charged by Kansas state universities. Different rules may apply to residency status in your home state or for other schools. The different definitions and rules applied by different states could result in your not being considered a resident of any state, for tuition purposes.
(316) 978-3672; firstname.lastname@example.org or visit the 102 Jardine Hall counter.