Tilford Commission Mission Statement

The Tilford Commission is a campus-wide group of faculty, staff, and students dedicated to promoting diversity, equity, and inclusion at Wichita State University. Formed in 2007 and named after WSU’s former Dean of the Graduate College, Michael Tilford, the Commission’s primary goals are to:

  1. Help Wichita State University become an institution that reflects the evolving diversity of our society and a campus community that nurtures diversity in culture, thought, and experience;
  2. Further curriculum efforts that include diversity and multiculturalism as a course or program objective through faculty-fellowships, faculty education programs, and the Tilford Diversity Studies Certificate program;
  3. Increase the understanding and implementation at WSU of current best practices and policies that relate to student admission, retention, and satisfaction as well as faculty and staff hiring, retention, and satisfaction.