Important Information regarding COVID-19 & Housing
In the face of the worldwide COVID-19 outbreak, Wichita State University's first priority is the health, safety and well-being of our entire Shocker community. Below you'll find the latest information and answers about the university's wide-ranging response to the pandemic.
- Housing and Residence has adjusted its contract dates to align with the university's plan to not begin instruction until February 1. Students will only be billed for housing through the campus shutdown date of Nov. 21 for fall, and Feb 1- May 15 for Spring. Students will have the option to stay over the Extended Winter Intersession and will be billed if they choose to stay. See our Housing Rates page for specifics.
Wichita State is currently offering testing to students with a known exposure or presentation of COVID-19 symptoms AND also mandating testing of all students living in and employees working in Housing and Residence Life, student athletes and certain students and employees associated with clinical programs. If you feel you need to be tested for COVID-19, please visit Student Health or contact your doctor.
As more information becomes available, the university will continue to update its COVID-19 website https://www.wichita.edu/covid19news.
FAQs regarding Housing during COVID-19 Pandemic
The Wichita State Pandemic Team is closely monitoring the COVID-19 situation and making contingency plans. As these plans are made, the FAQ section below will continually be updated.
Student Health Services is also continually updating its website with information relevant to the campus community.
Thank you for your understanding and flexibility during this time.
At this time there is no requirement to have the COVID-19 Vaccine to live on campus. The Kansas Board of Regents would need to put a law into place for this to become a reality. We will update this information as we know more.
WSU completed mandatory testing for all Housing and Residence Life (HRL) residents at the start of the spring semester. Specific information and details will be emailed in mid-January.
Any required testing will be free to all residents.
Before testing, all residents are required to sign an informed consent prior to administration of the test. For those residents who are 17 years of age or younger on the date of collection, you will need to have a consent form completed by your parent/guardian. A link to that form can be found here.
You cannot consume any food or beverage, chew gum, brush your teeth, or chew tobacco within 30 minutes of the test. If you have, you will not be able to complete the test.
When you arrive to the testing areas you need to:
- Wear a mask at all times until told to remove to complete the saliva test
- Bring your WSU ID
- Bring your mobile device for the registration process
Information on how you will receive the results will be provided on the day of testing. Our health professionals will answer any questions you may have upon arrival at the testing site.
The health, safety, and well-being of our entire campus community is a responsibility we all share. We appreciate your cooperation with all University-issued COVID-19 related protocols and procedures.
Prior to your arrival back to the halls on January 29th, please start watching the KDHE Website (linked in the next sentence). The state of Kansas’ Health Department (KDHE) sometimes requires individuals coming from certain high risk states to quarantine for 14 days upon arrival within the State of Kansas. If you are returning from one that is currently on the Travel Quarantine list, you will need to notify housing so you can quarantine appropriately prior to the start of the Spring semester.
Residents can complete the Request for Intersession Housing form and indicate they would like to stay for the Spring Intersession (Jan 1-29). Students will be billed for the entire Intersession they select, regardless of the actual amount of days they choose to stay on campus over that time. Residents will be able to stay for the entirety (or come-and-go) once they have paid. We are encouraging students to return home if they are able, but any students who wish to stay and pay the Intersession rates will be allowed to stay. The Intersession form can be found here: https://www.wichita.edu/student_life/housing/COVID19Housing.php. The deadline to sign up without a late fee is November 8th.
If you are leaving for the Extended Winter Intersession, you will be able to take what you want home, and leave the rest of your belongings in your room for when you return for the Spring semester. There will be further instructions on how to leave your room as the intersession approaches.
Yes. The rates have been adjusted to reflect the new academic calendar. See our rates page for specific rates.
Each resident will be limited to having a maximum of 2 guests in their room/apartment at any given time. This is to ensure that we are following the health guidelines in place by the County. Roommates must still consent to having guests in shared spaces, even if the guest lives in the same buiding. Residents are still responsible for their guests' behavior.
If you recently traveled to an area experiencing a COVID-19 outbreak and feel sick with fever, cough, or difficulty breathing, within 14 days after you left the area, you should:
- Seek medical care right away. Call ahead before you go to Student Health Services (316-978-4792), doctor’s office or emergency rooms, and tell them about your recent travel and your symptoms. For WSU students, Student Health Services; (316) 978-4792; is open 8-5 Monday through Friday. SHS is not a high complexity lab and cannot test for COVID-19.
- Student Health Services will be open duirng intercession times. However, they will be closed during the University Shutdown which is from December 18th-January 4th. Seethe Student Health website for more information.
- Avoid contact with others.
- Cover your mouth and nose with a tissue or your sleeve (not your hands) when coughing or sneezing.
- Wash hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds to avoid spreading the virus to others. Use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer if soap and water are not available.
The list below are all expectations during the COVID-19 pandemic and failing to follow any of these are not a violation of the code of conduct. However, intentionally putting others health and safety at risks may result in disciplinary charges through the Office of Student Conduct & Community Standards.
Additionally, this is a complex, challenging, and fluid situation which continues to evolve rapidly. All information in this statement is subject to change as deemed necessary by Housing and Residence Life in accordance with guidance and recommendations issued by federal, state, and local public health and government officials.
Personal Wellness Checks
- You should check yourselves for one or more of the following symptoms:
- Temperature greater than 100.4 F/38 C
- Shortness of breath
- Difficulty breathing
- Chills, repeated shaking with chills
- Muscle pain, headache, sore throat
- New loss of taste or smell
- If any of the symptoms above apply to you, we ask that you work with Student Health Services to better determine if you have COVID-19 and develop an Action Plan.
Personal Protective Equipment (PPE)
- Wearing of face coverings is expected while in the residence halls (common areas, hallways, dining hall, etc) and if you are outdoors with other individuals. The only exception to not wearing a face covering is if you are walking alone outside, or if you are in your assigned apartment/suite (as long as that has been pre discussed and agreed to in your roommate agreement).
- You may use other PPE you deem appropriate for yourself, even if you are not expected to do so.
Sanitizing/Cleaning and Personal Hygiene
- The HRL Facilities team will clean all common areas (Laundry, Kitchen, Lounge, Media Spaces, etc) in the residence halls regularly.
- It is good practice to clean the common areas in your apartment/suite daily. These would include bathrooms, kitchens (if they exist), living rooms, etc. in your apartment/suite. This will allow us to minimize exposure to other suitemates who may be using these areas as well.
- Hand sanitizer will be provided at Information Desks and departmental gathering spaces as available. If supplies are running low, please let an HRL Staff member know ASAP.
- It is recommended that you wash your hands regularly.
In accordance with State guidelines, Housing and Residence Life at Wichita State University is ensuring that all individuals follow self-isolation/quarantine measures if they are traveling from any of the places listed on the Kansas Department of Health and Environment Travel & Exposure Related Isolation/Quarantine webpage. More details in regards to this can be viewed here.
Intentionally putting others health and safety at risks MAY result in disciplinary charges through the Office of Student Conduct & Community Standards.
For example: My brother travels to Florida and then comes home a few days before I move back in, do I need to quarantine for 14 days before arriving?
No, if the people you were around were not in direct contact with COVID-19, you are not considered to be at risk and can move in at your scheduled time. However, the people that traveled would not be able to accompany you to campus for move in.
There may be a cancellation charges added to your student account, but you have the right to appeal the charges. For more information on the appeal process, please contact email@example.com.