Butler Community College, WSU sign 17 articulation agreements


WSU, Butler signing

March 27 marked another advancement in the partnership between Butler Community College and Wichita State University. A total of 17 articulation agreements were signed at Butler’s Andover 5000 Building in the company of Butler and WSU administration and faculty.

“I think this is simply an opportunity to celebrate the partnerships we have. We’ve always had long standing partnerships with WSU and I think this just strengthens them even more and creates additional wonderful opportunities and pathways for our students,” said Kim Krull, Butler president.

Pathway creation was a topic highlighted by members of both institutions. Creating multiple avenues for students to excel and succeed is the ultimate goal. No matter if the student attends Butler or WSU, the objective is to see students attain their dreams by a venue that is most feasible for them.

The articulation agreements create a seamless transfer from Butler to WSU and outlines the complete two-year curriculum at each institution.

“As a first-generation college student who started at a community college, I know the value of these transfer and articulation agreements, and they can lead a student to something bigger and better than they ever thought they were able of accomplishing,” said Lori Winningham, Butler vice president of academics.

Transfer students are a valuable asset to WSU as WSU holds the title of being the top college in the state for students who wish to continue their education after a two-year institution.

“We are the number one transfer destination for all students in the state of Kansas – eight years running – and our biggest transfer partner is Butler,” said Richard Muma, WSU provost and acting president.

The following articulation agreements were signed under four WSU colleges:

College of Applied Studies
Exercise Science
Early Childhood Unified/Elementary Education
Elementary Education, K-6

College of Engineering
Computer Engineering
Computer Science
Electrical Engineering
Industrial Engineering
Manufacturing Engineering

Fairmount College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Creative Writing
Criminal Justice
Homeland Security
Political Science

College of Health Professions
Public Health Science Health Management

The mission of Wichita State University is to be an essential educational, cultural and economic driver for Kansas and the greater public good. Wichita State is a doctoral research university enrolling nearly 15,000 students and offering 59 undergraduate degree programs in more than 150 areas of study in seven undergraduate colleges. The Graduate School offers 45 master's and 12 doctoral degrees that offer study in more than 100 areas. Wichita State's Innovation Campus is an interconnected community of partnership buildings, laboratories and mixed-use areas where students, faculty, staff, entrepreneurs and businesses have access to the university's vast resources and technology. For more information, follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/wichitastate and Facebook at www.facebook.com/wichita.state.

Butler Community College, an Aspen Institute Top 150 U.S. Community College with nearly 9,000 students, offers nearly 85 degree programs and 30 professional certification programs. The college’s main campus is in El Dorado, but it has centers in five other communities. For more information about Butler, visit www.butlercc.edu, on Facebook and Twitter (@butlercc)