Wichita State names new director for Office of Institutional Equity and Compliance

Christine Taylor, Title IX coordinator for Marquette University, has been named the director of the newly created Office of Institutional Equity and Compliance (OIEC) at Wichita State University, effective Aug. 13.

The new department will focus on advancing equal opportunity and inclusion, eliminating harassment and discrimination based on a protected class, and cultivating the benefits of diversity within the university. It will house the current offices of Title IX and EEO. Taylor will be responsible for developing and implementing the plan for the new office, including structure and staffing.

“We are excited for Christine to join Wichita State and help develop the new Office of Institutional Equity and Compliance,” said Anna Lanier, deputy chief of staff. “She brings a wealth of experience and significant leadership skills to the position. Most importantly, she resonates strongly with the commitment of WSU to provide a safe and inclusive environment for its students, faculty and staff.”

A Valparaiso University School of Law graduate, Taylor also has a postgraduate law degree in dispute resolution and a strong record of designing, implementing and administering tailored policies and procedures in OCR compliance and Title IX.

”I am excited about coming to WSU to work with a community of bright and talented people who are committed to creating a campus climate and environment where all students, faculty and staff feel included and engaged,” she said.

The search committee for the position included representatives from Student Affairs, Diversity and Community Engagement, General Counsel and the President’s Office. In addition, candidates met with stakeholders from the campus community including members from Student Conduct, Athletics, University Police, Academic Affairs, Human Resources, Title IX, EEO and Title IX Student Alliance.

The mission of Wichita State University is to be an essential educational, cultural and economic driver for Kansas and the greater public good. Wichita State is a doctoral research university enrolling nearly 15,000 students and offering 59 undergraduate degree programs in more than 150 areas of study in seven undergraduate colleges. The Graduate School offers 45 master’s and 12 doctoral degrees that offer study in more than 100 areas. Wichita State’s Innovation Campus is an interconnected community of partnership buildings, laboratories and mixed-use areas where students, faculty, staff, entrepreneurs and businesses have access to the university’s vast resources and technology. For more information, follow us on Twitter and Facebook.