14 finalists chosen in WSU Distinguished Scholarship Invitational


Wichita State University has selected the top 14 finalists in the annual Distinguished Scholarship Invitational (DSI).

They are:

  • Dalton Dicks, Great Bend High School
  • Julia Edmondson, Heritage Christian Academy
  • Spencer Espino, Timber Creek High School (Texas)
  • Tobin Hushower, Palmer High School (Alaska)
  • MJ Jacques, Topeka High School
  • Rebekah Krehbiel, Northside High School (Arkansas)
  • Vivian Le, Wichita East High School
  • Saif Malik, Wichita Collegiate School
  • Jacob Martinez, Lutheran South High School (Missouri)
  • Ebony Moore, Salina Central High School
  • Sophie O’Reilly, Tulsa School of Arts & Sciences (Oklahoma)
  • Claire Pomeroy, Andover High School
  • Bayle Sandy, Great Bend High School
  • Daniel Winter, Quest Early College High School (Texas)

The students competed in DSI in November with 656 total students competing – the largest in DSI history. Three of the finalists will be selected as recipients of the Harry Gore Memorial $64,000 scholarships, which are among the largest undergraduate awards in the Midwest.

To be invited to compete in the invitational, students had to have a 27 or higher ACT score, or a 3.5 or higher GPA, or rank in the top 10% of their class. The 14 finalists this year have an average ACT score of 28 and average GPA of 3.93.

Once invited, students completed an application, including essays and competed in an on-campus leadership competition.

The announcement of the Gore Scholars will be at 11:30 a.m. on Friday, Jan. 31, in the Marcus Welcome Center. All finalists will receive competitive scholarship packages to attend WSU in the fall of 2020. 

Read more stories like this