14 finalists chosen for Wichita State’s Distinguished Scholarship Invitational


Wichita State University has selected the top 14 finalists in the annual Distinguished Scholarship Invitational (DSI):

  • Tiana Marion, Salina South High School
  • Amani Moore, Byron Nelson High School (Texas)
  • Thayu Kimori, Lawrence Free State High School
  • Zoe Phillips, Fort Worth Academy of Fine Arts (Texas)
  • Alondra Valle, Dodge City High School
  • Lexi Dixon, The Barstow School (Missouri)
  • Annie Wasinger, Thomas More Prep High School
  • Katherine Mackenzie, Liberty North High School (Missouri)
  • Jayce Hildebrand, Stafford High School
  • Mia Putnam, Bishop Miege High School
  • Joey Macko, San Marcus High School (California)
  • Monica Nguyen, Wichita East High School
  • Charlie Hill, Bishop Miege High School
  • Braden Webb, Blue Valley North High School

A total of 813 students submitted applications for DSI in November – the largest application pool in DSI history. Three of the finalists will be selected as recipients of the Harry Gore Memorial $64,000 scholarship, which are among the largest undergraduate awards in the Midwest.

To be invited to compete in the invitational, students had to have a 27 or higher ACT score, or a 3.5 or higher GPA, or rank in the top 10% of their class. The 14 finalists this year have an average ACT score of 28 and average GPA of 3.97.    

Once invited, students completed an application, including essays and small-group interviews via Zoom. Finalists interviewed with the Gore Selection Committee on Jan. 21.

The announcement of the Gore Scholars will be at 11:30 a.m. on Friday, Jan. 29 in Wichita State’s Marcus Welcome Center. All finalists will receive competitive scholarship packages to attend Wichita State in fall 2021.

Read more stories like this