Business school awards scholarships to transfer students




For the first time in Wichita State history, the Barton School of Business has awarded three, multi-year scholarships to transfer students committed to joining the business program, in association with the Phi Theta Kappa honor society.


The recipients of the scholarships are Ricky Redford of Hutchinson Community College, Dre Thompson of Tallahassee Community College and Fabi Ayarza Anorga of Butler Community College. Each of the three students have been awarded $1,000 per year for two years. This scholarship will take effect in fall 2021.

“Our transfer students are an integral piece of our community at the Barton School,” said Dr. Larisa Genin, dean of the Barton School of Business. “Their perspectives and experiences bring a diversity of thought that is paramount to the education process for all students and faculty.”

In order to be eligible for the scholarship in the first place, the awardees had to declare a Barton School major, register as a full-time student at WSU enrolling in at least 12 credit hours, had a minimum GPA of 3.25, and be a member of Phi Theta Kappa. Phi Theta Kappa is the official honor society for two-year colleges with more than 3.5 million members around the world.

“We’re very excited to bring this scholarship offering to our transfer students,” said Caroline Beach, transfer academic advisor at Wichita State University. “We hope this can provide the financial support they need as they work to further their education at our university.” 

If you, or a student you know is interested in applying for the Phi Theta Kappa transfer scholarship for the 2022 school year, the application can be found at For questions about the scholarship, contact

Read more stories like this