John Hammond is a math teacher. His undergraduate degree is a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics Education with a minor in Computer Science. His early love was programming, writing his first program in BASIC at eight years old. Prior to coming to Wichita State, John Hammond was a software developer at National Information Solutions Cooperative in Lake Saint Louis, Missouri where he worked on enterprise solutions for telecom and electric cooperatives across the the country.

After a quarter-life-crisis, John went to graduate school at the University of Missouri-Columbia where he studied Analytic Number Theory with the goal of teaching at the college level.

John joined Wichita State in Fall of 2012 and has taught a variety of classes from College Algebra through the History of Mathematics. His favorite part of teaching is sharing his love of math with future teachers in the history courses, and bringing programming experience to the classroom in discrete mathematics.

John has served as Chair of the university’s Undergraduate Research committee, putting on the Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity Forum (URCAF) from 2015 through 2020. He was the director of the Math Lab from 2016 through 2020 and currently serves as Secretary of the Faculty Senate.



Areas of Teaching Interest

Accessibility in instruction

Nontraditional assessment methods (such as standards-based grading and ungrading)

History of Mathematics

Discrete Mathematics

Discrete Mathematics for Shockers (2022). Independently published OER text  Available in print on Amazon and free online at wichita.edu/discretebook
Awards and Honors

🧑‍🏫 Academy for Effective Teaching Award, WSU, 2023
🫶 Excellence in Accessibility Award, WSU, 2022
🧑‍🏫 Excellence in Teaching, University of Missouri-Columbia Math Department, 2012

Areas of Service
  • Faculty Senate Secretary 2020 - present
  • Student Success and Persistence Coalition 2022 - present
  • Academic Integrity Policy Committee, since 2022; chair 2023 - present
  • Senate Accessibility Committee, 2021-present ; chaired 2021-2022
  • Faculty Senator  2019-present
  • Math Lab Director, 2016-2020
  • Chair, Undergraduate Research, 2015-2020