Would you like to get in touch with us? Select your region below to view the contact information for that region.

Not Sure What Your Region Is?

Learn more about KKGU regions

Select Your Region

Central Office

Located in Wichita, Kan. Oversees regional Kansas Kids @ GEAR UP offices.

Office Location

  • Wichita - WSU Campus, 1845 N Fairmount, Box 110, Wichita, KS 67260-0110 • Telephone: 316-978-7810

Staff Members

Name Title Phone Email
Corinne Nilsen Executive Director 316-978-7810 corinne.nilsen@wichita.edu
Diana Carbajal Assistant Director 316-978-7810 diana.carbajal@wichita.edu
Yetnayet Tsegaw Database Coordinator 316-978-7810 yetnayet.tsegaw@wichita.edu 
Richard Schwasinger Scholarship Coordinator 316-978-7413 richard.schwasinger@wichita.edu
Barbara Kae Marketing Coordinator 316-978-7810 barbara.kae@wichita.edu
Valyn Burrell Administrative Specialist 316-978-7810 valyn.burrell@wichita.edu

Back to top


Region 1

Located in southeastern Kansas. Serves students in foster care in Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Cherokee, Crawford, Labette, Linn, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson and Woodson counties.

Office Locations

  • Pittsburg -  Kansas DCF,  320 S. Broadway,  Pittsburg, KS 66762 • Telephone: 620-231-5300, ext. 220
  • Parsons -  TBA

Staff Members

Name Title Phone Email
Brenda Armstrong Regional Coordinator 620-231-5300 ext. 220 brenda.armstrong@wichita.edu
Jim Fryer College Access Advisor 620-231-5300 ext. 218 james.fryer@wichita.edu
TBA College Access Advisor 620-231-5300 ext. 301  

Is the Region 1 staff member you want to contact not listed? Please call 620-231-5300 and select ext. 220.

Back to top


Region 2

Located in northeastern Kansas. Serves students in foster care in Douglas, Franklin, Johnson, Miami, Leavenworth and Wyandotte counties.

Office Locations

  • Kansas City -  Washington High School,  7340 Leavenworth Rd.,  Kansas City, KS 66109 • Telephone: 913-627-7904
  • Lawrence - TBA

Staff Members

Name Title Phone Email
Derek Koenigsdorf Regional Coordinator 913-627-7904 derek.koenigsdorf@wichita.edu
Olivia Vaca College Access Advisor 913-627-7904 olivia.vaca@wichita.edu
Darrick Henry College Access Advisor 913-627-7904 darrick.henry@wichita.edu

Is the Region 2 staff member you want to contact not listed? Please call 913-627-7904.

Back to top


Region 3

Located in northeastern Kansas. Serves students in foster care in 24 counties, including Jackson, Jefferson, Osage, Riley, Saline, Shawnee and Wabaunsee.

Office Locations

  • Topeka - Kansas DCF, 500 S.W. Van Buren, Topeka, KS 66603 • Telephone: 785-296-2990
  • Junction City - Kansas DCF, 1010 W. 6th St., Junction City, KS 66441 
  • Salina - Kansas DCF, 901 Westchester, Salina, KS 67401 • Telephone: 785-515-6593

Staff Members

Name Title Phone Email
Rebekah Soper Regional Coordinator 785-296-2990 rebekah.soper@wichita.edu
Eyyup Esen College Access Advisor 785-296-2990 eyyup.esen@wichita.edu 
TBA College Access Advisor 620-342-2505 ext. 248  
Beth Randall College Access Mentor 785-515-6593 beth.randall@wichita.edu

Is the Region 3 staff member you want to contact not listed? Please call 785-296-2990.

Back to top


Region 4

Located in western Kansas. Serves students in foster care in 46 counties, including Finney, Pratt, Barton, Ellis, Gove and Ford.

Office Locations

  • Garden City - Garden City Alternative Education Center, 1312 N. 7th, Garden City, KS 67846 • Telephone: 620-805-8628
  • Great Bend - Barton Community College, 1025 Main St., Office #D105, Great Bend, KS 67530 • Telephone: 620-786-7552 ext. 552
  • Hays - Rockwell Administration Center, 323 W. 12th, Hays, KS 67601 • Telephone: 785-623-2400 ext. 150
  • Dodge City - TBA

Staff Members

Name Title Phone Email
Amanda Kennedy Regional Coordinator  620-805-8628 amanda.kennedy@wichita.edu
Ben Hyatt College Access Advisor 620-786-7552 ext. 552 john.hyatt@wichita.edu
TBA College Access Advisor    

Is the Region 4 staff member you want to contact not listed? Please call 620-805-8628.

Back to top


Region 5

Located in Sedgwick County. Serves students in foster care in Cowley, Harper, Sedgwick and Sumner counties.

Office Location

  • Wichita - Kansas DCF, 2601 S. Oliver, Wichita, KS 67210  • Telephone: 316-337-6738
  • Arkansas City - Cowley Community College, 125 S. Second St., Arkansas City, KS 67005

Staff Members

Name Title Phone Email
Diana Carbajal Regional Coordinator 316-337-6738 diana.carbajal@wichita.edu 
Kayla Saens College Access Advisor 316-337-6738 kayla.saens@wichita.edu
Jacob Harper College Access Advisor 316-337-6738 jacob.harper@wichita.edu
Angela Thao College Access Advisor 316-337-6738 angela.thao@wichita.edu
Torisha Shorte' College Access Advisor 316-337-6738 torisha.shorte@wichita.edu 
Sarah Mick College Access Advisor 316-337-6738 sarah.mick@wichita.edu

Is the Region 5 staff member you want to contact not listed? Please call 316-978-7810.

Back to top


Region 6

Located in south central Kansas. Serves students in foster care in 14 counties, including Butler, Elk, Lyon and Reno.

Office Locations

  • Hutchinson Kansas DCF, 1700 E. 11th Ave., Hutchinson, KS 67501 • Telephone: 620-860-7281
  • Emporia - Kansas DCF, 1701 Wheeler St., Emporia, KS 66801 • Telephone: 620-342-2505 ext.248
  • El Dorado - Department of Health, 410 N. Haverhill, El Dorado, KS 67042 • Telephone: 316-321-4200, ext. 268

Staff Members

Name Title Phone Email
Silvia Morales Regional Coordinator 620-860-7281 silvia.morales@wichita.edu
Megan Crosley College Access Advisor 620-342-2505 ext. 224 megan.crosley@wichita.edu
Racquel Houston College Access Advisor 620-860-7334 racquel.houston@wichita.edu
Michelle Nicholson College Access Advisor 620-591-7046 ext. 17046 michelle.nicholson@wichita.edu

Is the Region 6 staff member you want to contact not listed? Please call 620-860-7281 

Back to top