Would you like to get in touch with us? Select your region below to view the contact information for that region.

Not Sure What Your Region Is?

Learn more about KKGU regions

Select Your Region

Central Office

Located in Wichita, Kan. Oversees regional Kansas Kids @ GEAR UP offices.

Office Location

  • Wichita - WSU Campus, 1845 N Fairmount, Box 110, Wichita, KS 67260-0110 • Telephone: 316-978-7810

Staff Members

Name Title Phone Email
Corinne Nilsen Executive Director 316-978-7810 corinne.nilsen@wichita.edu
Nichelle Mauk Assistant Director 316-978-7810  nichelle.mauk@wichita.edu
Barbara Kae College and Career Assistant 316-978-7810 barbara.kae@wichita.edu
Yetnayet Tsegaw Database Manager 316-978-7810 yetnayet.tsegaw@wichita.edu 
Chris Windham Budget Coordinator 316-978-7810 chris.windham@wichita.edu 
Richard Schwasinger Scholarship Coordinator 316-978-7413 richard.schwasinger@wichita.edu
Venessa Marques Administrative Specialist 316-978-7810 venessa.marques@wichita.edu 

Back to top


Region 1

Located in southeastern Kansas. Serves students in foster care in Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Cherokee, Crawford, Labette, Linn, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson and Woodson counties.

Office Locations

  • Pittsburg -  Kansas DCF,  320 S. Broadway,  Pittsburg, KS 66762 • Telephone: 620-231-5300, ext. 220
  • Parsons -  Parsons Senior High School,  3030 Morton Ave.,  Parsons, KS 67357 • Telephone: 620-421-3660, ext. 114

Staff Members

Name Title Phone Email
Brenda Armstrong Regional Coordinator 620-231-5300 ext. 220 brenda.armstrong@wichita.edu
Jim Fryer College Access Advisor 620-231-5300 ext. 218 james.fryer@wichita.edu
TBA College Access Advisor 620-421-3660 ext. 221  
Lori Woods College Access Advisor 620-231-5300 ext. 301 lori.woods@wichita.edu

Is the Region 1 staff member you want to contact not listed? Please call 620-231-5300 and select ext. 220.

Back to top


Region 2

Located in northeastern Kansas. Serves students in foster care in Douglas, Franklin, Johnson, Miami, Leavenworth and Wyandotte counties.

Office Locations

  • Kansas City -  Washington High School,  7340 Leavenworth Rd.,  Kansas City, KS 66109 • Telephone: 913-627-7810
  • Lawrence - Ballard Center, KKGU, 708 Elm St., Lawrence, KS 66044 • Telephone: 785-842-0440

Staff Members

Name Title Phone Email
Cathy Crist Regional Coordinator 913-627-7904 cathy.crist@wichita.edu
Derek Koenigsdorf College Access Advisor 913-627-7904 derek.koenigsdorf@wichita.edu
Christopher Bryant College Access Advisor 913-627-7904 christopher.bryant@wichita.edu
Olivia Vaca College Access Advisor 913-627-7904 olivia.vaca@wichita.edu
Darian Koenig College Access Advisor  913-627-7904 dairan.koenig@wichita.edu

Is the Region 2 staff member you want to contact not listed? Please call 913-627-7810.

Back to top


Region 3

Located in northeastern Kansas. Serves students in foster care in 24 counties, including Jackson, Jefferson, Osage, Riley, Saline, Shawnee and Wabaunsee.

Office Locations

  • Topeka - Kansas DCF, 500 S.W. Van Buren, Topeka, KS 66603 • Telephone: 785-296-2990
  • Junction City - Kansas DCF, 1010 W. 6th St., Junction City, KS 66441 • Telephone: 785-762-5445, ext. 252
  • Salina - Kansas DCF, 901 Westchester, Salina, KS 67401 • Telephone: 785-826-8000, ext. 378

Staff Members

Name Title Phone Email
Kathy Espana Regional Coordinator 785-296-2990 kathy.espana@wichita.edu
TBA College Access Mentor 785-296-2990  
Steven Hammond College Access Advisor 785-762-5445 ext. 252 steven.hammond@wichita.edu
TBA College Access Mentor 785-296-2990  
Beth Randall College Access Mentor 785-826-8000 ext. 378 beth.randall@wichita.edu
Eyyup Esen College Access Advisor 785-296-2990 eyyup.esen@wichita.edu 

Is the Region 3 staff member you want to contact not listed? Please call 785-296-2990.

Back to top


Region 4

Located in western Kansas. Serves students in foster care in 46 counties, including Finney, Pratt, Barton, Ellis, Gove and Ford.

Office Locations

  • Dodge City - Newman University, 236 San Jose St., Dodge City, KS 67801
  • Garden City - Garden City Alternative Education Center, 1312 N. 7th, Garden City, KS 67846 • Telephone: 620-805-8628
  • Great Bend - TBA
  • Hays - Rockwell Administration Center, 323 W. 12th, Hays, KS 67601 • Telephone: 785-623-2400 ext. 150

Staff Members

Name Title Phone Email
TBA Regional Coordinator    
Amanda Kennedy College Access Advisor  620-805-8628 amanda.kennedy@wichita.edu
Ben Hyatt College Access Advisor   john.hyatt@wichita.edu
Mark Ricketts College Access Advisor  785-623-2400 ext. 150 mark.ricketts@wichita.edu

Is the Region 4 staff member you want to contact not listed? Please call 620-617-1955.

Back to top


Region 5

Located in Sedgwick County. Serves students in foster care in Cowley, Harper, Sedgwick and Sumner counties.

Office Location

  • Wichita - Parent Teacher Resources Center, 412 S. Main St., Wichita, KS 67202 • Telephone: 316-866-8900
  • Arkansas City - Cowley Community College, 125 S. Second St., Arkansas City, KS 67005

Staff Members

Name Title Phone Email
Torisha Shorte' Regional Coordinator 316-866-8900 torisha.shorte@wichita.edu 
Mary Grace Held College Access Advisor 316-866-8902 marygrace.held@wichita.edu
Clinton Jones College Access Advisor 316-866-8902 clinton.jones@wichita.edu 
TBA College Access Advisor 316-866-8902  
Bonnie Jones-Jackson College Access Advisor 316-866-8902 bonnie.jones-jackson@wichita.edu  
Jessica Warren College Access Advisor 316-866-8902 jessica.warren@wichita.edu  

Is the Region 5 staff member you want to contact not listed? Please call 316-295-4651.

Back to top


Region 6

Located in south central Kansas. Serves students in foster care in 14 counties, including Butler, Elk, Lyon and Reno.

Office Locations

  • Hutchinson Kansas DCF, 11700 E. 11th Ave., Hutchinson, KS 67501 • Telephone: 620-860-7281
  • Emporia - Kansas DCF, 1701 Wheeler St., Emporia, KS 66801 • Telephone: 620-342-2505
  • El Dorado - Department of Health, 410 N. Haverhill, El Dorado, KS 67042 • Telephone: 316-321-4200, ext. 268

Staff Members

Name Title Phone Email
Silvia Morales Regional Coordinator 620-860-7281 silvia.morales@wichita.edu
Lydia Hunt College Access Advisor 620-342-2505 ext. 248  lydia.hunt@wichita.edu
Racquel Houston College Access Advisor 620-860-7334 racquel.houston@wichita.edu
TBA College Access Advisor    
TBA College Access Mentor 620-342-2505 ext. 248  

Is the Region 6 staff member you want to contact not listed? Please call 620-663-5731 and select ext. 335.

Back to top