Student Body President Rija Khan announces Task Force on the Black Student Experience


Today, Student Body President Rija Khan has signed an executive order authorizing the formation of the Task Force on the Black Student Experience. The goal for this Task Force is to have Black student leaders discuss issues faced by our Black students and give recommendations to the Association for tangible change that can create a more just, welcoming and engaging student experience for our Black Students on campus.

According to President Khan, she and members of her Administration have been reflecting and educating themselves on issues that are impacting Black students at Wichita State. President Khan’s Administration recognizes that education is simply not enough without action, which led to the formation of the Task Force.

President Khan appointed At-Large Senator Zachary James as the first-ever chair of the task force. James is a junior studying Political Science. He has been a Senator for the last three sessions as well as the former Chair of the Diversity, Empowerment and Inclusion Committee and student representative to the President’s Diversity Council. In his new role as Chair of the Task Force, James will guide the task force in discussions and proposing recommendations to the Association.

The Task Force is comprised of Black student leaders that represent various student groups and organizations. Joining James on the Task Force is Jorgiahlyn Kimble, President of the Black Student Union, Courtney Price-Dukes, President of the Black Academic Honor Society, Christian Ahukanna, President of the National Society of Black Engineers, Brian Harris, a representative from the National Pan-Hellenic Council, Kamilah Gumbs, Student Government Underserved Senator, Tajahane Stocker and Neiman Thompson.  


Contact: David Garcia, Director of Public Relations

316.978.7270 |