Midwest Geometry Conference 2022

March 11-13, 2022

Wichita State University




Schedule & Abstracts
Lectures - Room 127 Jabara Building (JB).
Refreshments - Room 353 Jabara Building (JB).
2:00pm-2:30pm Registration - 371 Jabara Building (JB)
2:30pm-3:00pm Refreshments
3:00pm-4:00pm Chikako Mese, John Hopkins University
Holomorphic Rigidity of Teichmuller space
4:00pm-4:30pm Break
4:30pm-5:00pm Cristina Domme, Wichita State University
Continuation of Solutions of Elliptic Systems from Discrete Sets with Applications to the Geometry of Surfaces
5:00pm-5:15pm Break
5:15pm-5:45pm Erin Griffin, Seattle Pacific University
Gradient solitons of a general q-flow and the consequences for ambient obstruction solitons
Lectures - Room 127 Jabara Building (JB).
Refreshments - Room 353 Jabara Building (JB).
9:00am-9:30am Registration - 371 Jabara Building (JB)
9:30am-10:30am Stephen McKeown, University of Texas, Dallas
Gauss‐Bonnet on asymptotically hyperbolic Einstein half‐spaces
10:30am-11:00am Refreshments
11:00am-12:00pm Nestor Guillen, Texas State University
Aleksandrov's estimate and its generalizations (...and lack thereof)
12:00pm-2:00pm Lunch
2:00pm-2:30pm Gabriel Khan, Iowa State University
2:30pm-3:00pm Yongjia Zhang, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Bamler's new entropy techniques for the Ricci flow and their applications
3:00pm-3:30pm Refreshments
3:30pm-4:30pm Dohyun Kwon, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Crystalline mean curvature flow with a volume constraint
4:30pm-5:00pm Break
5:00pm-6:00pm Paula Burkhardt-Guim, Courant Institue of Mathematical Sciences, New York University
Lower scalar curvature bounds for C0 metrics: a Ricci flow approach
Sunday (Daylight Savings Time)
Lectures - Room 127 Jabara Building (JB).
Refreshments - Room 353 Jabara Building (JB).
10:00am-10:30am Wenchuan Tian, University of California, Santa Barbara
10:30am-11:00am Refreshments
11:00am-11:30am Isabel Beach, University of Toronto
The length of a shortest closed geodesic on a surface of finite area
11:30am-12:30pm Christine Escher, Oregon State University
Non-negative curvature and torus actions
12:30pm Conference Ends
Zoom Link

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android:

Password: 633507

Covid Protocol

Masks are required for this conference.

Registration & Funding

There is no registration fee.  To register, please complete the online Registration Form.

Funding and Contributed Talks are requested through the registration process.  Please note the following deadlines:  

Deadline for Contributed Talk: November 30, 2021

Funding Request Deadline:  January 16, 2022

Funding requests may be considered after the deadline, but priority will be given to those that apply before the deadline.


4703 E. 19th Street North
Wichita, KS, 67208, US
T: (316) 364-4700


Room Type Single Rate Double Rate Triple Rate Quad Rate
King Bed w/ sofa bed $109.00 $119.00 $129.00 $139.00
Two Queen Beds w/ sofa bed $109.00 $119.00 $129.00 $139.00

Rates include complimentary breakfast and Wi-fi.  Rates do not include applicable taxes & fees.

Deadline for receiving special conference rates:  February 17, 2022.

To make an online reservation:

  1.   Goto the following website: Wichita State University Hotel | Hyatt Place at Wichita State University
  2.   Select BOOK NOW
  3.   Enter the DATES you want to stay
  4.   Under SPECIAL RATES - select CORPORATE OR GROUP CODE and enter the code G-GEOM

If calling to make a reservation, refer to the Midwest Geometry Conference

Parking & Maps

WSU Visitor Parking Information

Please refer to the WSU visitor parking map for designated parking areas.

WSU Building Map (Conference Building and Hotel highlighted).

Travel & Transportation

Wichita, Kansas is located at the junctions of I-35 and I-135, and US Highway 81 and US Highway 54/400.

Airport:  Dwight D. Eisenhower National Airport

Wichita Convention and Visitors Bureau

Scientific & Organizing Committee

Xiaolong Li (Wichita State University)

Yueh-Ju Lin (Wichita State University)

Catherine Searle (Wichita State University)

David Auckly (Kansas State University)

Ivan Blank (Kansas State University)

Xuan Hien Nguyen (Iowa State University)

Pablo Raul Stinga (Iowa State University)


Angelynn Alvarez (Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University)

Mark Arrasmith (Wichita State University)

Isabel Beach (University of Toronto)

Samuel  Blitz (University of California, Davis)

Austin Bosgraaf (Oregon State University)

Matthew Burkemper (Wichita State University)

Paula Burkhardt-Guim (Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University)

Jinxuan Chen (University of Notre Dame)

Sean Curry (Oklahoma State University)

Jordan Danser (University of Oklahoma)

Mai Dao (Wichita State University)

Aleyah Dawkins (George Mason University)

Cristina Domme (Wichita State University)

Christine Escher (Oregon State University)

Ethan Farber (Boston College)

Daniel Freese (Indiana University)

Dustin Gaskins (University of Oklahoma)

Farida Ghazawneh (Wichita State University)

Sien Gong (The University of Kansas)

Erin Griffin (Seattle Pacific University)

Nestor Guillen (Texas State University)

Abdullah Al Helal (Oklahoma State University)

Philipp Hoehn (Kansas State University)

Lydia Holley (University of Illinois at Chicago)

Michael Jablonski (University of Oklahoma)

Ayush Khaitan (Penn State)

Gabriel Khan (Iowa State University)

Md Ibrahim Kholil (Wichita State University)

Dohyun Kwon (University of Wisconsin, Madison)

Jihye Lee (University of California, Santa Barbara)

Chao-Ming Lin (University of California, Irvine)

Samuel Lin (University of Oklahoma)

Stephen McKeown (University of Texas, Dallas)

Ricardo Mendes (University of Oklahoma)

Chikako Mese (Johns Hopkins University)

Haeuser Mitch (Iowa State University)

Achinta Nandi (Oklahoma State University)

Evangelos Nastas (SUNY)

Jiewon Park (Yale University)

Russell Phelan (University of California, Riverside)

Peter Rock (University of Colorado Boulder)

Justin Ryan (SUNY Upstate Medical University)

Shoo Seto (California State University, Fullerton)

Jamiw Swan (Wichita State University)

Wenchuan Tian (University of California, Santa Barbara)

Aaron Tyrrell (University of Texas at Dallas)

Lillian Uhl (Iowa State University)

Shihshu Walter  Wei (University of Oklahoma)

Junrong Yan (University of California, Santa Barbara)

Zetian Yan (Pennsylvania State University)

Tala Sadat Yasenpoor (University of Connecticut)

Ramazan Yol (Indiana University Bloomington)

Abdelbaset Zeyani (Wichita State University)

Yongjia Zhang (University of Minnesota)

Xingyu Zhu (Georgia Institute of Technology)

The Midwest Geometry Conference 2022 is funded by the National Science Foundation and Wichita State University.


The Midwest Geometry Conference 2022 is held in cooperation with the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM), and supports the Statements on Diversity and Inclusion and Welcoming Environment of the AWM.