University Research Council

To obtain information from faculty and other administrators, the Vice President of Research convenes and chairs the University Research Council, which exists for the general advocacy, support and development of research and sponsored programs throughout the University community.

The council advises and makes recommendations to the Vice President of Research on matters of policy that promote and support research, service and scholarly and creative activity within the University's mission. In addition to the Vice President of Research, membership of the Research Council includes members of the graduate faculty representing each college, the doctoral-granting departments, the National Institute for Aviation Research and other units deemed to be important to the growth and development of research and creative activity at WSU.

Appointments to the council are made by the Vice President of Research in consultation with the Provost and deans of the colleges. Members of the council are expected to represent their constituents, and to report to them and their dean the activities of the council.

URC Council Members

  • Deborah Ballard-Reisch | Elliott School of Communication
  • Michael Birzer | School of Community Affairs
  • Alex Chaparro | Psychology
  • Kathy Coufal | Communication Sciences & Disorders
  • Jim Clark | Barton School of Business Deans Office
  • David Eichhorn | Chemistry
  • Buma Fridman | Mathematics & Statistics
  • Lyn Goldberg | Communication Sciences & Disorders
  • John Harrison | College of Engineering Deans Office
  • Steve Skinner | Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
  • William Hendry | Department of Biological Sciences
  • Ray Hull | Communication Sciences & Disorders
  • Krishna Krishnan | Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering
  • David Koert | Mechanical Engineering
  • Abu Masud | Graduate School
  • Antje Mefferd | Communication Sciences & Disorders
  • Scott Miller | Aerospace Engineering
  • Peer Moore-Jansen | Anthropology
  • Douglas Parham | Communication Sciences & Disorders
  • Teresa Radebaugh | Regional Institute on Aging
  • Nick Solomey | Physics
  • Elaine Steinke | School of Nursing
  • Xiao-Ming Sun | Communication Sciences & Disorders
  • John Tomblin | Vice President for Research
  • William Vanderburgh | Office of Faculty Development and Student Success
  • John Watkins | Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
  • Scott Wituk | Center for Community Support and Research