The Committee Structure     

In October of 2018 the Strategic Planning Committee was reconstituted to enhance the diversity, quality and quantity of voices involved in creating paths to live the university mission.  The newly adopted structure is multi-faceted and includes administrative support, a steering committee, and activations teams.

The committee is comprised of 16 members. Eight (8) members are representatives of standing university committees or "cross-cutting initiatives,"  seven (7) members are chairs of Activation Teams and the 16th member is the Assistant Vice President of Academic Affairs. Representatives from the "cross-cutting initiatives" were selected by their representative body. The Activation Team chairs were nominated by the outgoing Strategic Committee Members and presented to the Assistant Vice President of Academic Affairs for consideration and ratification. The same nominees were forwarded to the Provost for appointment.  

Activation Team appointments included an appointment of a chair elect to serve a two-year term, one as chair-elect, the following year as the chair. 

Committee structure infographic. It is arranged in a a series of concentric rings with a single central item labeled "strategic planning committee." The first outward ring consists of: SGA, PDC, Strat Comm, SEM, GSA, PIAC, PBAC, and OPS. The second outward ring includes "assessment incentive rewards - Judy Espinoza," "Applied Learning - Gary Brookings," "Interdisciplinary - Aleks Sternfeld-dunn," "Community & Industry Partnerships - Debra Fraser," "Innovation - Mike Jorgensen," Campus Culture - Bobby Gandu," and "Inclusion - Deanna Carrithers." The third ring shows a series of AcT/AcT Group elements, one of each being connected to one of the inner ring.

The Work

The SP Committee is charged to:

  • approve Goal-Focused Work Group recommendations and determine how to move forward;
  • ensure recommendations are forwarded to the appropriate person for final approval.
  • periodically review college strategic plans and updated strategic plans, to include:
    • ensure college and department plans are linked to University Strategic Plan
    • ensure colleges and departments engage in continuous improvement of their respective strategic plans
  • provide meaningful cross-campus conversation on strategic topics to demonstrate progress on the University's strategic plan,
  • engage in the strategic planning assessment process to monitor progress toward targets, to include:
    • Strategic Planning Dashboard
    • areas for improvement
    • coordinating University continuous improvement efforts
  • transfer implementation responsibility of the strategic plan to Provost, Deans, and Resource Partners
  • facilitate University Strategic Plan events (e.g. Fall Strategic Plan Annual Review, Spring Strategic Plan Forum)
  • review University goals for needed revisions, to include additions, deletions or changes as appropriate.

Strategic Planning Steering Committee Roster


Strategic Enrollment Management (SEM) – Carolyn Shaw

The Enrollment Management team has been charged to help WSU grow enrollment, promote WSU, serve all students and enhance every student's college experience.  The work group comprises faculty and staff from a cross section of campus offices and colleges.

Strategic Communications – Shelly Coleman-Martins

Strategic Communications leverages their wide range of creative and strategic expertise to help WSU offices maximize their marketing impact through varied services such as social media engagement, advertising,  graphic design, video, photography, event planning and other efforts.

Operations Sustainability (OPS) – Anna Lanier

The office of Operations Sustainability ensures continuous Improvement and elimination of barriers to help establish procedural paths for repeated actions (efficiency and sustainability of those actions).

President's Innovation Advisory Council (PIAC) - Mehmet Barut

The President's Innovation Advisory Council reports directly to the President and provides bridges from the University to the broader community. They have a dual foci and charge: 1) to serve as an internal focus group providing feedback to Strategic Communications and 2) serve as an external focus group for community and industry entities who seek to partner with WSU. 

President's Budget Advisory Council - David Miller

The President's Budget Advisory Committee is charged with four specific responsibilities. The PBAC is to: suggesting budget priorities that are consistent with the institutional strategic plan, gather information regarding areas where long-term budget efficiencies might be achieved while increasing effectiveness in achieving strategic goals, suggest areas that might result in increased income that are consistent with the strategic plan, and communicate regularly with the campus regarding ideas and discussions.

President's Diversity Council (PDC) - Kevin Harrison

The Presidents Diversity Council is an advisory and leadership team responsible for developing, overseeing and monitoring University-wide efforts to achieve Wichita State University's commitment to diversity as a core institutional and educational value.

Student Government Association (SGA) - Nancy Loosle

SGA empowers students to voice their opinions through campus committees and weekly public Senate meetings. SGA is governed by students and committed to student issues and concerns.

Graduate Student Association (GSA) - Kerry Wilks

The Graduate Student Association at Wichita State University enhances the graduate student experience through a unilateral representative body which provides student input on the policies impacting health, finances, and personal and professional development. The GSA supports all graduate students and aims to provide networking opportunities in the form of social events, professional development, and community engagement (on campus and in the city of Wichita and its surrounding communities).