Barton School of Business
AGH Scholarship Competition
November 18, 2022

Sponsored by Allen, Gibbs, and Houlik, L.C.

to select the $50,000 Clay Barton Endowed Scholarship

The W. Frank Barton School of Business at Wichita State University invites graduating seniors to compete in the Allen, Gibbs, and Houlik Scholarship Competition. Scholarship awards will be given to the top finalist and the final selection will be awarded the $50,000 Clay Barton Scholarship.

To be eligible to compete, you must

  • Be a May 2023 high school graduate and
    • Have a minimum high school GPA of 3.50 OR
    • Have a minimum of 27 composite ACT OR
    • Have 1280 for SAT OR
    • Rank in the top ten percent of your class at the end of your junior year
  • Declare a Business Major in accounting, business administration, economics, entrepreneurship, finance, human resource management, international business, management, management information systems, or marketing
  • The application deadline for the competition is November 4, 2022.

Qualified students need to submit an application through the WSU Scholarship competition application at and complete all of the requirements listed above for the competition will be invited to compete.

How to Set Up Your ScholarshipUniverse Account

Here's our friendly guide for setting up your account.

If you have any questions regarding this competition, please email Rani Somers, Recruitment and Communications Specialist at or Joan Adkisson, Director, Finance and Administration at

Information about the Professor Fran Jabara Endowed Scholarship Competition
Information about the Distinguished Scholarship Invitational (DSI)
Apply for Admissions

Schedule of Events:

What is the schedule for the AGH competition 
W. Frank Barton School of Business
AGH Scholarship Competition
November 18, 2022
8:00 - 8:15 Check-In TBA
8:15 – 8:30


                Dr. Larisa Genin, Dean
                 Introduction of Clay Barton Scholars
                 Introduction of Committee Members
8:30 - 10:00 Student Speeches and Scavenger Hunt TBA
10:00 - 11:15 Group Excercises TBA
11:15 - 11:30 Wrap-Up (Next step: What to expect) TBA
11:30 - 12:30 Lunch TBA
What is the format of the AGH competition?
The AGH Competition will be held In-person this year. Please plan on the competition to run from 8:00 am  - 12:30 pm.
What time is the AGH competition?

8:00 am – 12:30 pm  

Do I need to prepare anything prior to the competition?
No, we will have everything you need that day.
Will the 2nd round of the competition be in person?
Yes, if you are selected as a finalist, you will be invited back to campus.
When is the finalist round?
The finalist round will be in January, the date and time TBD.
May I participate in AGH and DSI?
Yes! The more the merrier!
How are the winners selected?
The Scholarship Committee will select six finalist to return to campus for a final round of interviewing prior to the selection of the $50,000 Clay Barton Scholar.
Past Barton Scholars

2022 Ella Hough-Tucker

2021 Trinity Soderstrom

2020 Austin Rea

2019  Trevor Cumpston

2018  Joshua "Tate" Watts

2017  Anisia Brumley

2016  Caelan Dean

2015  Alyssa Ward

2014  Bailey Bryand

2013  Kiah Duggins

2012  David Berry

2011  Jessica Crumrine

2010  Blake Krier

2008  Rochel Groene

2007  David Friedberg

2006  Timothy Wilson

2005  Jeff Orr

2004  Katie Kontz

2003  Casey Woolfolk

2002  Lance Miller

2001  Kristen Munday

2000  Tiffany Pankratz

1999  Mary Rachel Hattrup

1998  Amanda Nelson

1997  Jennifer Morrow

1996  Collin Stieben

1995  Joseph Hand

1994  Joseph John Wawrzaszek Jr

1993  LaTisha Garner

1992  Gregory Richards

1991  Erika Plagge