School of Performing Arts Student Council

Here is where you can find up-to-date information about the School of Performing Arts Student Council (SPACO). From events, to monthly circulars, to our officer list . . . we've got it all! Be sure to check back here often for new events and announcements!

About Us

The Student Council was implemented for the School of Performing Arts in 2009 as an effort to improve the overall functionality of the School and its programs. Originally appointed by faculty and staff, students now are elected by their peers after meeting certain academic and other relevant qualifications. These students continue to serve as a vital part of the SPA, both aesthetically and socially. Students are given the opportunity to communicate with their peers and the community, as well as evaluating situations based on the visible needs of the general School of Performing Arts community.

Mission Statement:

It shall be the purpose of The School Of Performing Arts Student Council (SPACO) to create bonds within the School of Performing Arts, Wichita State University, and the surrounding communities through the use of School of Performing Arts activities, mentorship, fundraising, campus outreach, social media, and high school outreach.

Members of Council are responsible for the following, in addition to other implied responsibilities:

  • Hosting School of Performing Arts events (such as the Fall Curtain Raiser and Spring George, Dick, and Harry Awards).
  • Helping acclimate incoming students to college life in the School of Performing Arts through the "Shocks and Mini Wheats" Mentorship Program.
  • Meeting monthly to discuss events, concerns, and new ideas for the School of Performing Arts.
  • Consulting with the School of Performing Arts student body about new or recurring issues that affect both individuals and the school/programs as a whole.
  • Discussing said issues with School of Performing Arts faculty and staff as deemed pertinent to the specific concerns expressed by the student body.
  • Encouraging cross-discipline engagement by being a network of support for all School of Performing Arts Productions.

The School of Performing Arts Student Council is not responsible for:

  • Advising students of the School of Performing Arts in their academic affairs
  • Determining scholarships or funding requisition for students or faculty in the School of Performing Arts


SPACO will now have representatives from each program and from the different student organizations.


Dance: Bailey Buchanan

Design & Technical Theatre: Denise Ussery

Empty Space: Adia Tolbert

MADT: Olivia Lockwood

Musical Theatre: Francie Robu

SPA Marketing Team: Blake Grimsley

Theatre Performance: Morgan Holcomb

Theatre BA/General Studies: Ian Moore

WSMTC: Gavin Tanner