What is the MSEP?

The Midwest Student Exchange Program was established by the Midwestern Higher Education Compact to increase interstate educational opportunities for students in its member states. The program enables legal residents of Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri*, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio and Wisconsin to enroll in designated majors at a reduced tuition rate. To learn more about WSU's MSEP Institutional Details go to MHEC Institution Details Wichita State University. This program is not the same as the Study Abroad program.

 Click here to view qualifications and application information.  Questions about MSEP may be directed to kristi.hughes@wichita.edu, 316-978-3073.

New students from one of the participating states who meet the academic requirements can participate in MSEP if they are majoring in one of these areas:

Barton School of Business

  • Accounting (Major)
  • Economics (Major, Master's)
  • Economics-Real Estate (Major)
  • Entrepreneurship (Major)
  • Entrepreneurship-Real Estate (Major)
  • Finance (Major)
  • Finance-Real Estate (Major)
  • General Business (Major)
  • Human Resource Management (Major)
  • International Business (Major)
  • Information Technology and Management Information Systems (Major)
  • Management (Major)
  • Management Science and Supply Chain Management (Master's)
  • Marketing (Major)
  • Marketing-Real Estate (Major)

College of Applied Studies

  • Athletic Training (Major)
  • Art Education, PreK-12 (Major)
  • Biology, Secondary (Major)
  • Chemistry, Secondary (Major)
  • Counseling (Master's)
  • Early Childhood Unified (Major)
  • Earth and Space Science, Secondary (Major)
  • Educational Leadership (Master's, Doctorate)
  • Educational Psychology (Master's)
  • Elementary Education (Major)
  • English, Secondary (Major)
  • English/History, Middle Level (Major)
  • English/Mathematics, Middle Level (Major)
  • English/Science, Middle Level (Major)
  • Exercise Science (Major, Master's)
  • French, PreK-12 (Major)
  • History/Government, Secondary (Major)
  • History/Science, Middle Level (Major)
  • History/Mathematics, Middle Level (Major)
  • Learning and Instructional Design (Master's)
  • Mathematics, Secondary (Major)
  • Mathematics/Science, Middle Level (Major)
  • Music Education, PreK-12 (Major)
  • Physical Education, PreK-12 (Major)
  • Physics, Secondary (Major)
  • School Psychology (Specialist)
  • Spanish, PreK-12 (Major)
  • Special Education (Master's)
  • Sport Management (Major)
  • Teaching (Master's)
  • Workforce Leadership and Applied Learning (Major)

College of Engineering

College of Fine Arts

College of Health Professions

  • Communications Sciences and Disorders (Major)
  • Health Management (Major)
  • Health Science (Major)
  • Medical Laboratory Science (Major)


  • Honors Baccalaureate (Major)

Fairmount College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

* Students of any major from Missouri automatically qualify for reduced tuition through Shocker Select. Missouri residents in several counties in the Kansas City area are eligible for resident rates at WSU. See here for more information.