Celebrate Earth Day with the Shockers!

The WSU Sustainability Committee and the Greater Wichita Community celebrated the wonderful ecofriendly things happening at WSU and in the Wichita Community on Earth Day on April 22, 2022!  Events included a showcase of community efforts and information, electric vehicles, panels, presentations, student research, and a K-12 student poster display.  


Earth Day Panel Story    2022 Schedule of Events    


Stay tuned for how to participate in Earth Day 2023!



        Enjoy photos from Shockers Go Green - Earth Day 2022!

                       WSU Community Garden    WSU Community Garden    Tabling Events    Tabling Events    Tabling Events           


                      Tabling Events    Tabling Events    Tabling Events    Tabling Events    Electric vehicles  


                      K-12 Poster Contest    K-12 poster contest    K-12 poster contest    K-12 poster contest    K-12 poster contest   


                      K-12 poster contest    K-12 poster contest    Panel speakers    Panel speakers    Student Research Poster Showcase

Thank You to our Sponsors

NetApp logo


Wichita State Geology logo

Department of Geology: Earth & Environmental Programs


Wichita State Office of Research logo

Wichita State University Office of Research


Learn more about sustainability on campus

Recognizing the educational, cultural, economic, and environmental benefits of sustainability, WSU is committed to engaging and empowering students, faculty, and staff to value, develop, adopt and promote sustainable practices.  To uphold that committment, Wichita State has a Sustainability Plan and offers mulitiple academic opportunities around sustainability across several colleges.


Shockers Go Green Planning Committee



Ikramuddin Ahmed
Associate Professor, College of Engineering

Visvakumar Aravinthan
Associate Professor & Ph.D EECS Coordinator, College of Engineering

Kristin Beal
Gallery Manager & Lecturer, College of Fine Arts

Jennifer Connelly
Community Member

Laura Cunningham
WSU Student Government

Michelle DeHaven
Program Manager, Environmental Finance Center

Alice Fitzgerald
WSU Green Group

Deepak Gupta
Professor, College of Engineering

Chris Hepner

Toni Willis-Jackman
Lecturer, Fairmount College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Holger Meyer
Associate Professor & Director of Physics, Fairmount College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Naquela Pack
Director of Engagement, Office of Engagement

Jeremy Patterson
Dean & Executive Director of Innovation & New Ventures, College of Innovation and Design

Coleen Pugh
Vice Provost for Research & Dean of the Graduate School

Kent Rowe
Community Member

Maggie Schoonover
Assistant Educator & Director of Sustainable Innovation, College of Innovation and Design

Carolyn Shaw
Associate Vice President for Strategic Enrollment Management

Jason Unrein

Bayram Yildirim, Chair
Professor, College of Engineering