Minutes of the Wichita State University Faculty Senate

Monday, April 14, 2014
CH 107 3:30 pm

Members Present: Baker, Barut, Bergman, Bryant, Castro, Decker, Horn, Houseman, Hull, Johnson, Klunder, Kreinath, Lewis, Liu, Lu, Matveyeva, Miller, Moore-Jansen, Oare, PIle, Rillema, Ross, Yeager, Yildirim
Members Absent: Anderson, Celestin, Close, Driessen, Hamdeh, Hanawalt, Perry, Taher, Thiessen, Trechak
Members Excused: Brooks, Mosack, Rokosz, Yu

Summary of Action:
1. Rules Committee appointments -- see committee reports
2. Accepted the nominations of Doris Chang (LAS Humanities) and Prekash Ramanad (Electrical Engineering) for Senate vacancies.

I. Call to Order
Vice President Peer Moore-Jansen called the meeting to order at 3:30pm.

II. Informal Statements and Proposals - none

III. Approval of the Minutes
The minutes of the March 24, 2014, meeting of the Faculty Senate were approved with the following amendment:
Senator Houseman requested a modification of the summary of his remarks to the Senate to indicate that he was advocating a Senate discussion of the procedures and faculty rights associated with the assignment of evening teaching responsibilities, rather than merely the possibility of increased compensation.

IV. President’s Report
Elizabeth King, President and CEO of the WSU Foundation, presented an update of the status of the WSU Foundation in its 48th year. Thanks to the hard work of the Foundation’s 35 employees this is has been a very good year. In fact the Foundation fund raising during the last five years has been about $22.5 million per year from about 13,000 donors. During that time the Foundation’s endowment has grown from $170 million in 2009 to about $237 million in 2013. The Annual Fund for Excellence telephone campaign raised about $650,000. The Foundation provided $11 million of private support to the University in FY’13. The Foundation managed 1,300 scholarships and fellowships for 2,600 students and 31 distinguished professors and chairs.
The Foundation has been preparing for a new seven-year comprehensive campaign to transform “Vision to Reality.” The following principal goals have been established for the campaign:
1. Develop an Advanced Technology Transfer Capability
2. Accelerate and Diversify University Research
3. Achieve Sustained Student Enrollment Growth
4. Create a Remarkable Student Experience
5. Infuse Quality in all Aspects of the Campus Culture
After a campus-wide exercise to develop the priorities for the campaign, with input from all units of the university the following were chosen for further feasibility studies:
• The Innovation Campus Building V, which will house the W. Frank Barton School of Business and the Innovation Center -- $35 million
• Health Professions Sciences Complex -- $30 million
• The McKnight Arts Center and Ulrich Museum -- $14 million
• The Charles Koch Arena and Cessna Stadium -- $15 million
• The Eck Stadium sports facility -- $3 million
Student Support
• Endowed Undergraduate Student Scholarships -- $36 million
• Current Undergraduate Student Scholarships -- $25 million
• The Emory Lindquist Honors College Scholarships -- $9 million
• Graduate Student Fellowships -- $3.5 million
• Graduate Student Assistantships -- 3.5 million
• Student Professional Development Innovation Fund -- $3.5 million
Faculty Support
• Endowed Chairs and Professorships -- $35 million
• Basic Research funding -- $10 million
• Curriculum, Instruction, and Professional Development -- $4 million
• Faculty Development Innovation Fund -- $3.5 million
Program Initiatives
• Innovation Campus Experiential Learning Labs -- $15 million
• The Emory Lindquist Honors College Program Initiatives -- $2 million
• Excellence Outside The Classroom Initiatives -- $8 million

V. Committee Reports.
A. Senator Mehmet Barut, Chair of the Rules Committee, distributed the following roster of new appointments to the Faculty Senate standing committees, with terms expiring in 2017.

Academic Affairs Melissa Mallon University Libraries
Kathleen Perez LAS Social Sciences
Court of Academic Appeals Ray Hull - full Health Professions
Frank Rokosz - alt Education
Faculty Affairs Carol Bett Health Professions
Syed Taher LAS Math/Natural Sciences
Jeri Carroll Education
Faculty Support Ginger Williams University Libraries
Paul Rillema LAS Math/Natural Sciences
Rick LeCompte Business
General Education Ikram Ahmed Engineering
Steve Brady Basic Skills Representative
Library Kim McDowell Education
Robert Feleppa LAS Humaniaties
Rules Masud Chand Business
Cathy Moore-Jansen University Libraries
Scholarship & Student Aid Lizzy Walker University Libraries
Esra Buyuktahtakin Engineering
Sam Yeager LAS Social Sciences
Undergraduate Research Anthony May Business
William Flynn Fine Arts
Univ. Admissions & Exceptions Kirsten Johnson Fine Arts
Susan Castro LAS Humanities
Mark Walsh LAS Math/Natural Sciences
Univ. Tenure & Promotion M. Bayram Yildirim At Large

The Senate voted unanimously to accept all of the nominees. He also acknowledged that there were eight more vacancies, and he again urged all senators to volunteer for committee assignments and to encourage their colleagues to serve as well.

Engineering Rules Committee
Fine Arts Library Committee
Health Professions Academic Affairs
General Education
Undergraduate Research
LAS Humanities Academic Affairs
Undergraduate Research
LAS Social Sciences General Education

He presented the current status of the reorganization of the online version of the Faculty Handbook by the Rules Committee. He indicated that the on-line version of the Handbook would replace the existing version in about a week.
B. Peer Moore-Jansen, Vice President of the Senate, introduced the names of the following two nominees for the Senate: Doris Chang (LAS Humaniaties) and Prekash Ramanad (Electrical Engineering). They were approved unanimously. He also announced that vacancies remain in the following areas: Fine Arts (at-large), Health Professions (nursing), LAS (Humanities, Math & Natural Sciences, and three in Social Sciences)

VI. Old Business - Strategic Planning Process -- Interim Dean Matson (LAS) and Interim Dean LeFever (Education) reported that their process was in the final stages and would soon be ready for faculty votes. Interim Dean Masud (Graduate School) reported he has been coordinating with the Colleges and would begin a draft plan soon.

VII. New Business - none
VIII. As May Arise - none
IX. Adjournment - President Moore-Jansen adjourned the meeting at 4:15 pm.
Submitted by Walter Horn
Secretary of the Faculty Senate