Minutes of the Wichita State University Faculty Senate
Monday, 3:30 pm, May 6, 2013; CH 126

Members Present: Anderson, Barut, Bergman, Brooks, Bryant, Close, Decker, deSilva, Driessen, Horn, Hull, Jacobs, Johnson, Kagdi, Klunder, Lewis, Matveyeva, Miller, Mosack, Oare, Pulaski, Rillema, Rokosz, Ross, Solomey
Members Absent: Alexander, Celestin, Hamdeh, Liu, Lu, Moore-Jansen, Mukeerjee, Toops, Yildirim
Members Excused: Baker, Besthorn, Kreinath, Smith, Yeager
Summary of Action
1. Accepted the Faculty Senate Standing Committee Annual Reports from:
Academic Affairs
Court of Academic Appeals
Faculty Affairs
Undergraduate Reserch

I. Call to Order

President Bob Ross called the meeting to order at 3:30 pm

II. Informal statements and proposals
President Ross distributed a form to all senators soliciting candidates for Faculty Senate Committee assignments for AY 2013-14.

III. Approval of Minutes -- The minutes of the April 22 Faculty Senate meeting were approved. They are available at http://webs.wichita.edu/?u=facultysenate&p=/m42213/

III. President’s Report
KBOR - The May KBOR meeting will be held next week in Topeka. The Board’s actions may be impacted by whatever strategy the legislature decides to take regarding the higher education budget.
The Council of Faculty Senate Presidents will share breakfast with the KBOR on Thursday the 16th. This is a traditional event, designed to facilitate communications between the two groups.
Strategic Planning Update - A draft of the Strategic Plan for the University is available on the WSU homepage.
Salary Spread - the salary spread (nine months to twelve) will be available for most faculty (with the exception of those working under certain types of contracts) starting with the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2013. Thanks go to the efforts of Vice President Herrin, President Bardo and the members of the WSU Executive Team
Faculty Awards Ceremony - The annual University Faculty Awards Ceremony will be held on Friday May 10, 2013. The reception begins at 2:30 pm in the Commons outside Hubbard 211. The Award Ceremony will be held at 3:00 pm in Hubbard 211 with Regent Christine Downey Schmidt being the guest speaker.
General Faculty Meeting - Following the Faculty Awards Ceremony there will be a general faculty meeting, also in 211 Hubbard Hall.

IV. Remarks from Vice President Mary Herrin:
Ground breaking of the new residence hall in the center of campus will take place this May. The new building will be located where Parking Lot #4 currently exists. This will mean that about 700 parking spaces will not be available during the time of the construction of the building. The University has made arrangements for off-campus parking and a bus shuttle system to meet the parking demand during construction. The new residence hall is expected to be open for the fall semester of 2014.

VI. Committee Reports
A. Academic Affairs -- Nick Solomey, Chair: Senator Solomey announced that Don Foster, long-time member of the Physics faculty, had passed away Sunday, May 5. A moment of silence was observed.
Senator Solomey distributed a handout describing the recommendation of the Faculty Senate Academic Affairs Committee (AAC) regarding the duplication of credit hours between two majors or a major and a minor. The AAC recommends the following policy:
The same hours can be used to meet the requirements of more than one major or minor or combination thereof within the following conditions:
1. At least 12 hours of unduplicated coursework beyond the duplicated hours must be completed in each major. This rule applies to second majors earned in the same degree as well as to second degrees.
2. In minors requiring 15 hours or less, at least three hours of unduplicated coursework must be completed in each minor.
A great deal of discussion ensued. In the interest of time, President Ross suspended discussion and asked all senators that wished to modify the recommended language of the proposal to forward their suggestion to Senator Solomey so that he could bring the suggestion to the AAC for discussion prior to the second reading of the proposal at the next Senate meeting (May 13).
B. Committee Annual Reports – President Ross accepted the annual reports from the following Senate Committees: Academic Affairs, Court of Academic Appeals, Faculty Affairs, Honors, and Undergraduate Research.

VII. Old Business - none

VIII. New Business
A. Review of Strategic Planning Outcomes – President Ross presented the following summary of the work of the WSU Strategic Planning Committee:
Vision - Wichita State University is internationally recognized as the model for applied learning and research
Mission - The mission of Wichita State University is to be an essential educational, cultural and economic driver for Kansas and the greater public good.
Values - At Wichita State University, we value…
ÔÇß Seizing opportunities
ÔÇß Success for all stakeholders
ÔÇß Diversity of culture, thought, and experience
ÔÇß Adaptive approaches
ÔÇß Teamwork
ÔÇß Positive risk-taking
Goals -
1. Guarantee an applied learning or research experience for every student in each academic program.
2. Pioneer an educational experience for all that integrates interdisciplinary curricula across the university.
3. Capitalize systemically on relevant existing and emerging societal and economic trends that increase quality educational opportunities.
4. Accelerate the discovery, creation, and transfer of new knowledge.
5. Empower students to create a campus culture and experience that meets their changing needs.
6. Be a campus that reflects-in staff, faculty, and students-the evolving diversity of society.
7. Create a new model of assessment, incentive and reward processes to accomplish our vision and goals.

B. President Ross presented a plaque to Provost Keith Pickus in appreciation of his commitment to the work of the Faculty Senate and his devotion to the principles of shared governance. The heart of the proclamation was as follows:
“The Faculty Senate of Wichita State University, by this proclamation, honors Dr. Keith Pickus for his support and assistance as Interim Provost of Wichita State University. His dedication, service, support and leadership have made the Wichita State campus a better place.
Best wishes are extended to Dr. Pickus in all of his future endeavors.”

IX. As May Arise – Senator Mosack announced that retirement reception for former Faculty Senate President Jolynne Campbell has been scheduled for 2-4pm, May 14 in Ahlberg 110.

X. Adjournment: - The meeting of the Faculty Senate was adjourned at 4:50 pm.
Submitted by Walter Horn
Secretary of the Faculty Senate