The National Science Foundation (NSF) Kansas Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (KS-LSAMP)


About the Program

The Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation is a National Science Foundation program that assists colleges and universities in diversifying the workforce entering science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) fields, in part, by supporting institutions’ efforts to increase the numbers of students that successfully complete baccalaureate degrees in these fields. The LSAMP program takes a comprehensive approach to student development and retention. Particular emphasis is placed on transforming undergraduate STEM education through innovative, evidence-based recruitment and retention strategies, and relevant educational experiences in support of racial and ethnic groups historically underrepresented in STEM disciplines.



The Kansas Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (KS-LSAMP) promotes recruitment and retention programs throughout Kansas in support of increasing the success of underrepresented minority students (URMs) in STEM fields. The Kansas LSAMP includes the following institutions:

 2018 Kansas alliance members

  • Barton Community College (Great Bend, KS)

  • Dodge City Community College (Dodge City, KS)

  • Donnelly College (Kansas City, KS)

  • Garden City Community College (Garden City, KS)

  • Kansas State University (Manhattan, KS)
  • Seward County Community College/Area Technical School (Liberal, KS)

  • Wichita State University (Wichita, KS)

These institutions will work together to implement specialized activities for students at critical junctures in their careers such as high school to college and the transition from two-year to four-year institutions.

Take a look at the KS-LSAMP blog for more update information about KS-LSAMP activities.


LSAMP Programs

Wichita State University's Dorothy and Bill Cohen Honors College and Cassat Regional Institute on Aging are proud to present their LSAMP program: the Summer Reseach Institute (SRI) in First Year Research Experience (FYRE).

Wichita State University's College of Engineering is proud to present their LSAMP program: the Shocker Engineering Academy.


NSF image This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant Numbers 1817537 (2018) and 1305059 (2013). Any opinions, findings, conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the KS-LSAMP program and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.