Student Groups and Organizations

The College of Health Professions has several groups that provide opportunities for students to connect across all health professions disciplines or get involved in a group associated with a specific academic program. The groups provide networking opportunities that help prepare students for a career in health care.  Students are also able to participate in numerous community service activities throughout the year.

Alpha Eta Honor Society

Alpha Eta Honor Society

Alpha Eta Honor Society is a national scholastic honor society for the Allied Health Professions. For more information visit the Alpha Eta Society website.

Future Health Care Professionals

Future Health Care Professionals

An all-inclusive student organization that assists the CHP in supporting and encouraging pre-professional and professional students in the college. These members also assist in:

  • Developing community awareness of the college and its programs.
  • Exploring and implementing strategies to improve the qualities of academic endeavors, relationships, and preparation for career pursuits.
  • Promoting cooperation and guidance within the different disciplines of the College of Health Professions.
  • Providing social and community service projects for its members.

Contact: Gina Stewart at 316-978-3304 or gina.stewart@wichita.edu.
For more information visit the Future Health Care Professionals website.

HEALTH (Health Education Advocates for Leadership, Teamwork, and Humanity)

HEALTH (Health Education Advocates for Leadership, Teamwork, and Humanity)

The purpose of HEALTH is to serve as a community-based association for students working together to improve health education and promote delivery of well diversified and high quality care.

Contact: Amy Ham at amy.ham@wichita.edu

www.wichita.edu/health 

Aging Studies Student Organization (AGES)

Aging Studies Student Organization (AGES)
Amy Chesser, Faculty Advisor
316-978-3145
amy.chesser@wichita.edu

Dental Hygiene Student Organization

Dental Hygiene Student Organization
Shanin Peck, Faculty Advisor
316-978-7251
shanin.peck@wichita.edu 

Kansas Association of Nursing Students (KANS) - WSU Chapter

Kansas Association of Nursing Students (KANS) - WSU Chapter
A professional organization that allows nurses' voices to be heard and gives students the opportunity to network with other nurses and future employers.

KANS mission is to mentor students preparing for initial licensure as registered nurses, and convey the standards, ethics, and skills that students will need as responsible and accountable leaders and members of the profession.

  • Membership is open to pre-nursing and nursing students.
  • Our local chapter KANS is part of the larger national organization.
  • Meetings are once or twice a month to organize fundraisers and volunteer work with organizations such as the American Red Cross.
  • Members are involved in conventions on local, state and national levels.

For more information contact the faculty advisor or attend one of our general meetings.

Terri Core, Faculty Advisor
316-978-5714
terri.core@wichita.edu
http://www.nsna.org/

Stephanie Nicks, Co-Advisor
316-978-7295
stephanie.nicks@wichita.edu 

Medical Laboratory Sciences Student Organization

Medical Laboratory Sciences Student Organization
Laurie Alloway, Faculty Advisor
316-978-6819
laura.alloway@wichita.edu 

Nurses' Christian Fellowship

Nurses' Christian Fellowship
Carol Bett, Faculty Advisor
316-978-5711
carol.bett@wichita.edu

Physician Assistant Student Organization

Physician Assistant Student Organization
Michelle Wallace, Faculty Advisor
316- 978-5642
michelle.wallace@wichita.edu

Pre-Physical Therapy Student Organization

Pre-Physical Therapy Student Organization
preptwsu@gmail.com
Follow us on Facebook

Pre-Physician Assistant Student Organization (PASO)

Pre-Physician Assistant Student Organization (PASO)

President:
Dalton Good dkgood@shockers.wichita.edu 

Vice President:
Brittni Mayagoitia Bcmayagoitia@shockers.Wichita.edu

Treasurer/Primary Contact:
Katie Dunlop Kldunlop@shockers.Wichita.edu

Secretary:
Jacquelyn Martinez jxmartinez22@shockers.wichita.edu

Faculty Advisor:
Steve Arnold stephen.arnold@wichita.edu

 

Wichita State University Student Speech-Language-Hearing Association (WSUSSLHA) 

Wichita State University Student Speech-Language-Hearing Association (WSUSSLHA) 
Terese Conrad, Faculty Advisor
316-978-3397
terese.conrad@wichita.edu

Karissa Marble-Flint, Faculty Advisor
316-978-6356
karissa.marble-flint@wichita.edu

For more information visit the WSUSSLHA website.