"Our university has the rich sense of belonging to the past, and the exciting feeling that the future is heavy with the promise of better things. It is a place where the present is sometimes a difficult reality but it harbors great dreams about the future."
- Emory K. Lindquist, The Idea of the University 1963


The Cohen Honors College aims to benefit the University by
  • Attracting and retaining academically exceptional and highly motivated students from the Wichita area, the region, the nation, and the world
  • Enhancing the recruitment of high-achieving transfer students
  • Increasing undergraduate enrollment
  • Increasing student-faculty collaboration in teaching, research and service
  • Attracting and retaining high-quality faculty and staff
  • Creating compelling connections across disciplines and with the greater Wichita community
  • Enhancing the academic reputation of the University
The Cohen Honors College aims to benefit students and faculty by
  • Emphasizing academic rigor along with exploration, creativity, and discovery
  • Providing Honors students individualized advising and priority enrollment
  • Engaging students in intellectual dialogue and real-world problems
  • Facilitating undergraduate research across campus
  • Preparing students for top graduate schools, competitive national scholarships, and leadership roles in professional careers
  • Supporting interdisciplinary courses and curriculum development
  • Serving as a curricular laboratory for faculty to experiment with course design and content

Honors Councils and Advisory Board

Faculty and student participation in university and college governance is vital to the proper functioning and success of the university. Honors alumni and friends are engaged through the Cohen Honors Advisory Board. 

University Honors College Council

The University Honors College Council is the governing board and decision-making body for the college. The full council meets at least once each semester and is comprised of the Student Council and the Faculty Council. The University Honors College Council is chaired by the Dean and chaired administratively by the Assistant to the Dean.

Cohen Honors Advisory Board

The external Cohen Honors Advisory Board first convened April 22, 2016 with 9 alumni and 2 honorary members. The board meets twice per year to advise the Dean and helps develop student mentorship and opportunities throughout the year. 

2019-2020 Board Members


James Blakemore
Sharon Iorio
Michael Jones
Judge Eric Melgren (Chair Emeritus)
Rebecca Morgan
William Pate
Joy Vann-Hamilton
Joan Wagner (Board Chair)
Chris Wettig
Dorothy Cohen (Honorary)
Bill Cohen (Honorary)
Honors College Student Council

The Student Council meets every week on Thursday at 3:30. Anyone is welcome to attend. To bring an idea or concern to the student council, email honorsstudentcouncil@wichita.edu.

More information and a list of current members can be found on the Student Council web page.

Honors College Faculty Council

The Faculty Council meets the third Thursday of each month at 3:30. To email a faculty council member, click on the name below.